Goop

My brother-in-law is a professional chef. He lived with the hubby and I for a few months, and during this time he would make the most amazing meals for us like flank steak with roasted fresh veggies, and crispy french bread loaded with butter and the perfect amount of seasonings.

Yep, he was great to have around :).

But, he also made something that the hubby would refer to as “Goop”. That’s a fancy term for putting all the leftovers in the fridge in one pot, adding a can of cream of something soup, and season to taste.

Sounds horrible, but more often than not it tasted great, and was a way to not let leftovers go to waste.

Anyway…

Today’s post is going to be a bit of “Goop”. This is because I am not a morning person, and the time changeover really hits me hard every year. And by that I mean I’m super grumpy until my inner clock adjusts.

So, here’s a bunch of cool links for you to enjoy!

Click HERE to see all the things Ryan Gosling would say if he worked in publishing.

Below is a hilarious video of things writers say.

And here’s another video, this time it’s things non-writers say…

Finally, CLICK HERE to learn how many times The Help was rejected, and rewritten, and rejected again, and again, and so many more times, before it finally became a best-seller. This is a fantastic article about determination, and not giving up on your dreams.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Goop

  1. First of all, I’m very interested in the goop. Do you remember any of the things he mixed just to give me an idea? I think I might need to give this a try. And I appreciate the article on the Help, although I don’t know if it makes me feel better or worse about the whole prospect of writing and selling a book…

    • Wendy,

      It was usually some kind of vegetable we’d had that week (corn, broccoli, asparagus tips, roasted squash), and then he would add finely chopped meat (again, whatever happened to be lounging away in the fridge. I recall we had chicken a lot of times but red meat of any variety works just as well) to the pot.

      Then he’d add either cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup, and then he’d finish it off with bunch of mysterious seasonings in proportions I never understood. After it was heated and seasoned, he’d ladel the “goop” on top of a bed of either rice (never Minute Rice…that stuff sucks) or noodles (any style).

      More often than not it was fantastic!

      Let me know how yours turns out, and if you come up with anything else to add.

      CC

  2. Oh yes, Christi. My brain is a huge cauldron of goop.

    About the left overs. My brothers and I were always terrified when there were left overs, because they would either end up in our shcool lunch or a strange omelete.

    I’ve seen one of those videos and I loved the links, thanks :)

    • Florence,

      I can only imagine how you’d open up your lunch box and find something strange inside. That sounds hilarious, and I’m thinking you should write a funny short story about it :)

      CC

    • Lindsey,

      I love YouTube, and have found it to be both a fantastic resource and a gigantic waste of time. But a fun time nonetheless :)

      Christi

Leave a Reply

