The Long Haul

When you’re a writer, struggling like crazy to make it to “author” status, it’s best to learn early on this one simple fact…

It’s going to be a long haul.

Writing is a series of ups and downs, and a whole lot of hard work. It’s best to enjoy the ride, and take pleasure in the small things about the journey to publication, because if you look hard enough, they’re there. 

I for one, just LOVE to update my little “widget” that tracks the word/percentage progress for my rewrites. (Yes, I’m a freak!)

Anyone else out there taking pleasure in the “small things” on your path to publication? I’d love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “The Long Haul

  1. One of the small things I love is the sound of my typing, particularly when I’m “in a zone.” It’s sort of musical, and mostly it is an audible reminder of my productivity. Better than a visual one, because staring at a screen makes my eyes feel wonky after a while!

  2. I love to check my word count. I don’t do it every page, but when I get into a groove and really burn the keyboard up, I’ll do it when I finally catch a breather and it always makes me smile.

    Course, then I go back and delete 90% of it or edit something else so what I just spent two hours writing isn’t even applicable, etc., but hey, it’s still fun. ;o)

Leave a Reply

