So Many Reasons…

There comes a time in a writer’s life when you just don’t, for whatever reason, want to get back in that chair and do the work.

Right now, I’m there.

So many reasons and so many excuses not to, but when it all comes down to it, if you don’t get AIS (A$$ in Seat) you’ll never finish!

Sure, Captain Obvious can stop by and bring his friends You’ll Never Finish, and What Were You Thinking When You Wrote Such Absolute Garbage?, but it is up to the writer to banish them and get going.

So, I sit and type, even though the Christmas tree is begging to leave our house, laundry is crawling up and over the rims of all the hampers, and Entertainment Tonight is promising some super new breaking celebrity news.

Because if you don’t write the words, they’ll never get done!

4 thoughts on “So Many Reasons…

  1. Keep writing, Christi! Not that you need me to tell you that. Good luck with your work today. Staying in the chair is harder sometimes that other, and you have had a tough week. Tell Capt O and his buddies to come back tomorrow.

  2. The times you don’t want to write are the most important times to actually write. Sigh. I’ve been dealing with this issue myself lately–haven’t we all, with the holidays in full swing? I got up this morning and forced myself to look at my novel, even though my brain really wanted to just relax and do email. Sometimes making the effort to connect with the work is all that matters.

  3. Holy moly, I am so there. And my problem is I gained probably 10 lbs. in the past several months becaue I was sitting, writing, sitting, writing non-stop. I need to hear Captain Obvious’ proclamation because it’s just too easy to surf the internet or half-heartedly do laundry when my manuscript lies unfinished in the belly of my decrepit laptop.

    Thanks. I wrote today for the first time in a month. I appreciate your blog!

  4. Jacqui,
    As I sit here, online, load of laundry patiently awaiting attention in the dryer, and my husband warming up the truck so we can go and do the recycling I wonder will I ever get to my revisions today?

    The answer…yes! I will make myself do them, later of course 🙂

    Christi

Leave a Reply

