If it Ain’t Broke…

The saying is…”If it ain’t broke, then don’t fix it.”

Last night, I had to disagree.

In reading over my revisions from the weekend (hey, I made 5500 words by the way!), two pages really began to bother me. I mean, they weren’t horrible per say, but they also didn’t match up to my other pages.

Yeeeeesssssss, I BRIEFLY considered the “Ah, well. It’s good enough” path. But, knowing it would bother me to the rest of my days, I went back and took a good hard look at WHY  it wasn’t working, figured out the problem, and now those pages SING with poignancy! (At least, to me.)

I really don’t think that makes me a perfectionist. I think it makes me a careful writer who doesn’t want her name attached to anything less than my absolute best effort.

Castle is on tonight. Everybody should start watching it so if we don’t want to talk about writing in the comments, we can at least talk about that :). 

Happy Monday everybody!

8 thoughts on “If it Ain’t Broke…

  1. Christi:

    I am always amused by people who think writing means you sit down and are awe struck by an idea or lightning strikes and you are possessed by the muse and … bingo … a best seller …

    Writing is a learned craft and a difficult one to master. The proff is in the re-writing. You did good. And congrats on the 5,000 words. It’s really building isn’t it?

    Not to worry. I live with someone who is a walking TV guide and since she knows I only turn on the DVR … she makes sure I watch Castle. Honestly, I do love it.

    • Ramblings,
      Oh if I could have that bolt of lightning stowed away somewhere and could pull it out at will 🙂
      Tell me tomorrow how you like Castle.
      Christi

  2. Elle,
    Ok, I’m not going to try to convince you to stay up one day out of the week to watch it…buuuuuut I will say it is the one day of the week I am not writing from 10-11pm because IT’S THAT GOOD!!! 🙂

    Christi
    PS. I really do miss living in the Central Time Zone. Prime time at 7pm and the evening news at 10pm was so great!

  3. Wow! Maybe when ur through you can head on over this way and revise mine cuz nothing I write really SINGS with anything!!!! Good for you and it sounds delightful, bittersweet, and awesome! And I don’t watch Castle but I’m going to start “Fire” the sequel to Graceling tonight because I just got it today and cannot wait.

  4. I’ve never heard of Castle. I’m out of the TV loop lately, just waiting for Lost to start again (soon!) And good for you for revising until your prose sings! I am about to begin a big revision myself, and it’s a daunting task.

  5. I don’t think it’s perfectionism, just smart, to re-work something that’s bothering you. When it niggles like that you know it isn’t working the way you intended and you’d always regret not fixing it. Congrats on your word count, too. That’s a great weekend effort!

Leave a Reply

