The Road Not Taken

The Road Not Taken

by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that, the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

 

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

 

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

5 thoughts on “The Road Not Taken

  1. I’ll see your Frost and up you some Wordsworth!

    She dwelt among the untrodden ways
    Beside the springs of Dove;
    A maid whom there were none to praise
    And very few to love.

    A violet by a mossy stone
    Half-hidden from the eye;
    Fair as a star, when only one
    Is shining in the sky.

    She lived unknown, and few could know
    When Lucy ceased to be;
    But she is in her grave, and oh
    The difference to me!

  2. Dr. B,
    I love Yogi Bear and thanks to the Boomerang channel I still enjoy him today. He’s as fiesty as ever.

    Lydia,
    I figured it was time for a change, plus this layout makes links and the boxes on the side stand out. Your guest post is still as hot as ever by the way!

    A.Grey,
    What a glorious poem, thanks for sharing. And speaking of sharing, are you ever going to tell us what that HUGE cat weighs? (Seriously, everyone reading this needs to check out A. Grey’s blog for a photo of the BIGGEST CAT YOU’VE EVER SEEN!)

  3. Ooooh I forgot about Griffon… 🙂 He weighs right at 32 lbs at the moment. He’s actually gained a few in the last year. Unfortunately we’ve been in a loosing battle to try and get him to thin down. Really all he gets to eat is a tablespoon of moist food (I’m not kidding, a tablespoon) and about six ounces of dry food twice a day. That’s it. We even took him off the moist entirely at one point, but he didn’t loose anything so the vet said to let him have it.

Leave a Reply

