Mouse in the House

No, I’m not talking about Disneyland or anything fun.

I’m talking about a real live mouse, who snuck in through the open (two five-year olds live here—of course it was left open!) screen door and has taken up residence behind our kitchen cupboards.

The thing has entered, and left “presents” in almost all the drawers and apparently goes BUCK WILD when we’re not home.

We haveΒ traps galore set up (I snapped my finger while setting one, wow did that hurt!) in the now empty drawers , and poison hidden behind a baseboard. I spent all day clearing out the drawers of kitchen stuff, washing it, and storing everything in Rubbermaid containers.

Now we wait.

Of course, the puppy decided to investigate the one trap we left out for the night (we have to pick it up during the day–too risky to leave it out with kids around). Within an hour of setting it up, he came tearing out of the kitchen like his tail was on fire. Luckily he just set it off and scared himself.

So now I ask, have you had rodent problems and if so how long did the trap take to rid you of the problem?

12 thoughts on “Mouse in the House

  1. Hmmmm. Well, with five cats in the house, anything that gets in here, doesn’t last long. But between the farm and friends, I’ve seen my share of mouse renters.

    Where are you?

    Because right now we’re dry as a popcorn fart over here on the east coast and when you get a drought the mice aren’t stupid, and they’ll hang around as long as they have to in order to survive, even if it means dodging people and traps. It’s been my experience that usually, they’re in your house because it’s more hospitable than whatever environment is outside. I mean, a friend lived in an apartment once that was part of a huge farm and the owners had reclaimed various outbuildings, like corn cribs and storage sheds and they were impossible to seal up, so mice were a problem since they had easy access. But I’m going on the wild assumption that your house isn’t holey, and you don’t have bags of old food lying around πŸ™‚ Considering that, I’d say you’re on the right track to getting rid of the country mouse who came to visit. As for how long, I think depending on the environment outside your house, it’s just a matter of how smart the mouse is.

    • A. Grey,
      We live in Oregon and it is pretty hot right now (for us at least, I know on the East coast you guys are sweltering).

      Our house isn’t holey and I keep a pretty tight reign over messes…in other words the kitchen is usually immaculate and every surface wiped down with bleach wipes around once a week. Now it’s even cleaner as everything has been removed from the cabinets, run through the dishwasher, and sits in Rubbermaid bins waiting for the mouse to leave.

      My question is…will the mouse notice the “emptyness” and be more wary since there are traps instead?

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’re having fun being an Auntie πŸ™‚

      Christi

  2. Hey, Christi … whoever Grey is … I have to say up-front .. “dry as a popcorn fart” is something I’ve never heard but the visual is fantastic. πŸ™‚

    Being a city girl we suffer with “visitors” from the kingdoms of all manner of vermin. For us, finding a rodent means their entire family and a few other of their neighbors in the building will soon follow.

    We call it a “hole hunt” … not as colorful as “popcorn fart” but effective. You need to rip out everything from closets and cabinets and look for an opening in the apartment and when you find it, you plug with wire scrubber …

    Once I had to move the stove and dislodge my kitchen sink and finally found the opening. Until that happened the most miserable was waking at six am to make coffee and finding a mother delivering eight little pink offspring.

    Good luck. Be viligent. Your friend is correct. In a private house, it matters what the weather and feeding conditions are outside. In Brooklyn my ex lived in a small house across from the cemetery and in the winter the field mice would get cold and come in to warm up.

    In Florida where it’s mostly hot and humid, our temperature control condo usually stays vermin free. What we get are little green lizzards. They don’t gross me out, so I don’t bother. They come in and out and depending upon whether one of our three cats grabs them, there is no harm.

    • Florence,
      Oh, I highly recommend you visit A. Grey’s site. She’s hilarious, and a brand-new Auntie! I really think you’d enjoy her posts.

      With regards to “finding the opening”…Are you saying they are living outside and come inside to hang out? I seriously thought one came in through the screen door (it has a new, huge rip in it) and just took up residence.

      Problem is, he is roaming through the back of the cabinets and drawers.

      Our puppy is useless, he just set off the trap πŸ™‚

      Christi
      PS. Did you get my letter yet?

  3. ‘Dry as a popcorn fart’ is something I grew up hearing my grandmother (mom’s mother) say. She was from a hollow (pronounce it ‘holler) up in the mountains of West VA. She was an educated and intelligent woman, but man some of the sayings she had are awesomely hysterical. πŸ˜€

    On the mouse front, my gut feeling Christi is that yes, the mouse will be more wary because of the lack of ‘cover’. But there isn’t much you can do about that since you’ve got to keep stuff where aforementioned fuzzball can’t be tracking all over it. They really are opportunistic feeders, so if it can’t find food easily, and there are traps out, and you find any possible entry, like Ramblingsfromtheleft said, the mouse/mice ought to vacate pretty quickly. And it’s totally possible that the mouse really did just come in the door and is now trying to make a home for itself, so it could want to get back out as much as YOU want it out.

    • I took Ramblings advice and went on a “hole hunt” and looked for entry places, and surprise! Under the kitchen sink the little punk ate some drywall, left more presents, and made a huge mess.

      I’m waiting on the hubby to come home and clean that up (after all, fair is fair and I did all the rest of the kitchen) but in the meantime I set a trap under the sink. But, before I set the trap I managed to set it off three times and swear for the first time ever in front of my children. Luckily, they haven’t repeated what I said, but now they are scared the house is filled with mice that will attack the second they leave my sight.

      Life sure is interesting πŸ™‚
      Christi

  4. Oh, and I am most DEFINITELY LOVING the auntie role! Now, the fun will really escalate when I go to teach little Walelu how to say ‘Aunt Waguli’…

  5. Last summer, we had rats in our backyard (thank God, not inside). I think they came about from our neighbor’s compost pile, and all of the yards around us had problems with them. I hate killing animals. I’m the type who carefully transports spiders outside. I really didn’t want to set out traps, but obviously we had to deal with the problem. So, my husband set out traps and I asked him just to not tell me about the result. The rats are no longer a problem, so apparently they worked. Didn’t seem like it took long, either.

  6. Charlotte,
    Rats!
    Ugh!

    I think of Templeton in Charlottes Web and the movie “The Rats of Nihm”. Scary stuff!

    I too put bugs and spiders outside in glasses or on paper, but this thing is wreaking such havoc I can hardly wait to see it gone! (But, hubby will be the one in charge of disposal :))
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Christi

  7. Pingback: Saddle Up! « Christi Corbett's Blog

  8. Pingback: Meet The Disgustingtons « Christi Corbett's Blog

Leave a Reply

