The Madness is Upon Me…

Things are even MORE crazy around here and I’m just not finding any time to write/revise. It’s been almost a week that I haven’t been able to carve out a few minutes to myself, day or night.

I could recite the entire laundry list of why, but I won’t. (Just know that some of the highlights include preparing and then holding a yard sale, doctor’s appointments for immunizations–didn’t happen but that’s another story, gathering paperwork for school registration, my ten year anniversary is fast approaching, and so on…)

This should be a short term situation, until the madness of our very first getting ready for school and all that entails is over. In the meantime, my brain is going stir-crazy and my characters are invading my dreams begging me to return. 

Now I ask, how do you handle not being able to write at all?

10 thoughts on “The Madness is Upon Me…

  1. I think sometimes it’s good to take a break. It makes me more excited about writing when I do get back to it. My whole summer has been like that – no time to work on my book at all. But the book will still be there waiting for me in the fall!

  2. I laughed when I read about your characters invading your dreams! That happens to me, also. Plus, lately I’ve been considering a plot for my next book, and so I’ve been having vivid dreams trying out different plots. My mind has been working hard while I sleep. So funny. And, yet… weird, too!

  3. I don’t handle delays well these days. The days of babies, first day of school, summer camps and other ways life imposes, are long gone.

    I also dream about the characters, find myself thinking in character (this can get scary) and sometimes, talk aloud in character to work out a conflict.

    Are we all nuts? Sure, but ain’t it fun? No, the book will not always be there when you get back. But I found out the hard way … if “that” book is no longer there when you finally get back …

    another … perhaps better one … is waiting in the wings to take its place.

    You have a good mind-set and when the babes are off for the first time … I am sure you’ll take full advantage … Have a great day 🙂

  4. Meghan,
    I miss my book, but I also know that these last few days before they start school are very precious so I’m willing to put it aside for a bit. You are right, I’m getting very excited to get back to it!
    Christi

  5. Margo,
    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one dreaming about my characters. I think I just miss working with them during the day so they come visit me when I have time…while sleeping 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more about Thia, and your guest post on this blog!

    Christi

  6. Florence,
    It seems you, Margo, and I all have some very vivid dreams 🙂

    When I have ideas about plots for upcoming books I write the ideas down in a little “I’ll get back to this when I have more time” notebook. That way, the basics of my thoughts are concrete and no longer floating around my mind, or invading my dreams.

    Thanks for stopping by,
    Christi

  7. I know what you mean! It’s really hard sometimes when you can’t find the time, but any little bit is helpful. I keep spiral notebooks with me at all time and if i can’t make time to sit and tell a story, I’ll do random character sketches. I’ve got tons of character ideas.
    It’s a tough time of year. And I often wonder how I was able to crak out the stories I have? Really? I made time for that?? Wow!

  8. PK,
    I just registered my twins for kindergarten and saw a ray of hope for an increase in my writing time. Three hours of “alone time” five days a week…looking forward to getting some serious work done!
    Christi

  9. Charlotte,
    Only about two weeks to go until they start! (Our district starts way later than most).

    I’ll be sad at first I’m sure, but then…yippeeeeee 🙂

    Thanks for visiting and congrats on the weddings of your children this summer,
    Christi

Leave a Reply

