Writing Quote Friday

Thanks to Carol J. Garvin who gave me this quote  in her comment on my post on Monday. (Check out Carol’s blog. I’m a long time follower!)

Today’s quote is from Rebecca Hargreaves…

Part of being a writer, particularly an aspiring one, is studying craft, but all those rules and tips can become like shackles. It can create timid writers. Ones who are afraid to make giant awkward splashes and instead write safe, neat sentences that may conform to guidelines but are often uninspired. There is a time for rules in writing, but one should only cage the beast after it has been let free to run and wrestle and tumble in the mud until it is exhausted and ready to collapse, willingly, inside the cage.

4 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday

  1. This quote is like a discussion with a group of writers on an RWA loop. Some people were adamant that CP’s and groups are the worst thing you can do to yourself.

    This topic touched a nerve and the discussion has continued now for three days. I have had both wonderful and horrible experiences from critique groups.

    It froze my writing for two years. Paralized I could do nothing more than rewrite the same work over and over.

    It takes time to develop thick skin, to learn, no matter how old or experienced you are when you begin this journey, you are bound to meet all the usual suspects as you travel.

    Thanks for the link. Carol has a unique voice and I have saved her.
    Have a great w/e 🙂

  2. Ramblings,
    I have both a CP and a writing critique group. I am finding lately that the CP is far more helpful than the group, but that may be due to the fact my CP reads all my word, page by page, in order and my crit group just hears stuff I struggle with.

    I think I have thick skin, but somehow still find “holes” in it from time to time that allow the voices of doubt to creep in 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you liked Carol’s blog,
    Christi

  3. CP groups are great, as long as you take them with a grain of salt. I’ve had many reviews for my books, both good and bad. And the only thing I ever learned is that everyone has different taste.

    I think a great way to approach writing is to read proven, published authors. Study their styles and the way they write, instead of listening to people who haven’t been published talk about what’s right and wrong.

    After all, I’d be willing to take advice about real estate from someone who owns their own home outright, but I wouldn’t take advice about real estate from someone who is renting an apartment.

  4. Malia,

    I’ve been with my writing crit group for over a year now and I’ve really had to take some stuff with a grain of salt…especially since I’m the only one writing historicals/full length novels with the goal of publication.

    I live in a small town so getting to larger groups (RWA meets over an hour away, both the drive and membership fees put that well out of my budget) is difficult.

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Christi

Leave a Reply

