Writing around your Real Life

All writers I know have a real life.

You know, the life away from your characters, storylines, synopsis, and query letters.

A life where laundry begs to be rescued from the floor, door handles, and backs of chairs. A life where children and spouses demand things, like food and other basic necessities. (Insert your own “real life” moment here)

This is a very interesting post by Patti Nielson on tracking how much time you devote to your writing vs. living your “real life”. Melissa Gill has a post here about the same subject.

Happy Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Writing around your Real Life

  1. Ramblings,
    The posts from both Patti and Melissa made me realize I’ve been woefully slacking in the “making time for my writing” department.

    I was so seriously inspired by both of them, which is why I decided to feature them in today’s post.

    As for me, the house chores can wait, I’ll be writing!

    Christi

  2. I’m glad that you posted this. I am going to check them out. I considered writing something similar. I am always trying to find a balance to find time for everything and be fair. lol

Leave a Reply

