Writing Quote Friday

Today’s quote comes from a recent blog post by A. Grey…(used here by permission)

I found a place where I can escape from panic over the idea that I might ‘never make it’ and will be ‘trapped’ where I am in life forever, a place where I can be at peace with the fact that I currently have no queries out, and be happy knowing that I’m ‘going’ to have them out, once I’ve gotten them as spit-polished as possible. I found a starting point again. A ‘first cup’ in my writing life. So when I finish my first cup of coffee and hit ‘publish post’ on this happy little blathering tangent, I’m going to go start writing on [my next project]… WITHOUT the intent of finishing it so I can start querying. I’m going to write it because I want to, because writing it makes me happy. Because that’s what makes life worthwhile. Writing for the sake of writing. The rest will come in due time. Or it won’t. I’ll still be writing either way. And loving every minute of it.

(This paragraph is part of a larger blog post. Also, watch for A. Grey’s guest post on this blog sometime in December!)

6 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday

  1. Great post A. Grey … Because that’s what makes life worthwhile. Writing for the sake of writing.

    work for work’s sake … for the love of it 🙂 … is what makes sense to me.

    Love this piece. Thanks for posting, Christi.

  2. PK,

    I hope you get a chance to go over and read the larger post that A. Grey allowed me to get this paragraph from. It’s really moving and inspiring.

    Christi

  3. Ramblings,

    It wasn’t really a guest host, it was from a larger post on her blog that I read and then asked if I could use this paragraph for my quote day.

    Go over and read her whole best. It makes this paragraph even more powerful to us writers 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

