If We Knew Then What We Know Now…

One week from today I am hosting a very special guest here on my blog.

She’s an aspiring author who has kept journals her whole life and has written countless short stories. (I’ve had the pleasure of reading one of her stories and can assure you, she’s got a lot of potential).

Oh, and did I mention she’s only eleven years old?

If you could go back in time and tell the “younger you” any piece of advice about writing, what would it be?  

Think on that and then share your wisdom, and possibly a critique of one of her short stories, with her next Wednesday.

In the meantime, PLEASE spread the word about this VERY special guest. I really hope the online writing community can gather together to support her dream…a dream we all probably had at her age.

(While you think of advice, enjoy this trailer 🙂 )

18 thoughts on “If We Knew Then What We Know Now…

  1. How wonderful! I have always had stories in my head, and I remember beginning to write them down early too. At the age of 11, I decided I wanted to be a writer.
    It would have been fantastic if someone had done for me what you are doing for your guest next week (not that there were any blogs back then, but you know what I mean). It’s a brilliant idea.
    A piece of advice for my younger self … “Just write. Don’t listen if someone tells you that you really ought to be doing something else instead. Do other things too, especially those things that you have to, but writing is right for you, it is part of you.”

  2. What you are doing is so special and will be a precious memory for the rest of her life. 🙂

    I must agree with M. Howalt. I add only one other piece of advice to that … save it all … from the first journal or diary to her first short story. Hold on to and cherich every page … that is until she is older and wiser and can begin to understand what she was doing.

    Great idea:)

  3. How wonderful! Ten years old and on the road to her dream. I can’t wait to meet this remarkable young lady. I will tell her to keep following her dream of writing regardless how rough the road my become, regardless of how the joys and trials of growing up may interfere, regardless of how others may or may not be supportive. I would tell her to learn as much as she can about the craft of writing. I would tell her to teach others and share the satisfaction of journaling. And, I would tell her to enter contests for young writers. I would tell her to learn to accept rejection as lessons learned not as personal rejection.

    Last of all I would simply say–YOU GO GIRL!!!

  4. M,

    Great advice! Make sure to stop by next week and share it with my special guest. She’s very excited to hear from other writers so PLEASE help spread the word.

    I also think she may share a short story for critique 🙂

    Christi

  5. Florence,

    She is the daughter of one of my dearest friends and I’ve known her since before she was born 🙂

    Apparently she’s got lots of journals already filled so she’s on the right track.

    Please spread the word for next Wednesday!

    Christi

  6. Winona,

    What a great idea for her to enter contests! Please make sure to spread the word and stop back next Wednesday.

    How’s blogging going? I’m hitting send on this comment and then visiting your blog 🙂

    Christi

  7. I’m definitely not missing this. I’m not going to do the younger self thing cause- well, cause I’m still between 9-14.
    So, if I could say something to this girl, I’d say, I know how you feel, I was writing when I was 9, most people think it’s a phase. It’s not. Writing is a part of us. So keep going! And let’s hope we’ll be published someday!

  8. Tigers Eyes,

    Congrats on pursuing your dream! I hope to see you back here next Wednesday…you can connect with another young writer and check out all the advice from us more “seasoned” writers 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by,

    Christi

  9. I love talking to younger kids that have the same passion for writing that I do. (Granted, I’m a teenager myself.)

    I hope she knows that everyone out there supports her as she reaches for her dreams =D Can’t wait to read the post.

    • Aloha,

      Your blog is very thoughtful and you’ve accomplished quite a feat by keeping it up while you’ve got school and everything that goes along with that!

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Christi

  10. To my beautiful talented granddaughter. Wow this is so fantastic.Your dream is a dream come true. Keep up the good work. We are so proud of you.

  11. Jane,

    Make sure you check in next Wednesday when she gets all kinds of great advice!

    Thanks so much for stopping by,
    Christi

  12. Christi,
    I want to send you a huge squeeze and a million thanks for this opportunity for my little one. As a mom there are moments that stand out…seeing my daughter venture out on unfamiliar ground withunsteady feet, not quite sure what is to come, but willing to put herself out there makes me a very proud mom.
    Thanks is a small word for helping her gain self-esteem.

Leave a Reply

