Writing Quote Friday

Today’s writing quote comes from Nic Alderton… (Check out his blog here

How To Write a Novel

1. Think up a story

2. Using about 80,000 words, write the story down

Pitfalls that Get in the Way of Writing A Novel

1. Not thinking up a story

2. Not writing down the story

3. Writing down most, but not all, of the story

4. Pissing about on the Internet

If you liked this, be sure to check out Nic’s tips on How To Write A Great Novel!

This quote was suggested to me by children’s writer Monica Gudlewski. You can find her story, “Mr. Ollie Odenhofer”  in Spider Magazine, which is the sister magazine to Cricket. She also has a wee poem coming out in HighFive Magazine. In addition, she’s currently plotting her first novel.

You can find Monica on Twitter using the handle @mgski_

16 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday

    • Wendy,

      Aren’t those pitfalls hilarious, and yet so true? I think my worst pitfall is number four 😀

      Christi

    • Yay! Monica is here! The Monica who showed me the quote and has the greatest kid stories!

      Thanks again for the links and the quote suggestion!

      Christi

  1. Yes Christi, first I must say “Danke” to you for introducing us to Monica. You know I am a sucker for “quotation fridays,” and of course this month finding me on a self-imposed hiatus that is making me antsy … friday’s quote got to me 🙂

    Monica, danke to you for a most delightful little story. I so enjoyed hearing it and I am sure children also found it fun to read and hear 🙂

    • Florence,

      I’m glad to know that you appreciate the quote fridays. I thought you’d like this one since it’s a bit on the funny side 🙂

      Christi

  2. Danke, @ramblingsfromtheleft! I enjoy your comments here on Christi’s blog, and I’ll be sure to visit your blog.

  3. Christi, thanks so much for your welcome and kind words. I’m so happy to have found your blog. It’s a great place for writers.

    I’m just back from a trip to Florence’s blog – it was love at first visit.

    By the way, the link to my story in SPIDER Magazine is an oral reading of my rhyming story. It’s meant to be read aloud with the magazine in your lap! The original story was published in hard copy (May/June 2009) and illustrated wonderfully by Mark Meyers. http://markmeyers.blogspot.com/

    I’m hoping to launch a writer’s blog soon, so you’re all invited! Thanks again, Christi and everyone.

  4. Florence, thank you for the follow! I’m looking forward to tweeting with you and keeping up with your blog. I didn’t see a note – did you send it thru Twitter?

Leave a Reply

