Quote Friday

As I sat down at the computer to find a writing quote, the Dear Hubby wandered by and suggested this one…

 I live by three simple rules. I won’t be wronged. I won’t be insulted. And I won’t be laid a hand on. I don’t do these things to other people, I expect the same from them.

This quote is from the movie, The Shootist, staring John Wayne. John’s character in the movie, John Bernard Books, says this quote to state how he lives his life.

(Fun fact, the movie also starred Ron Howard, aka Opie Taylor.)

What are some of your favorite movie quotes?

11 thoughts on “Quote Friday

  1. “You talkin’ to me?” Robert DeNiro, Taxi Driver

    “… make my day.” Clint Eastwood, Dirty Harry

    “Why should I be happy about being a grandmother.” Terms of Endearment, Aurora Greenway … otherwise known as Shirley MacLaine

    Great topic. I could go on all day. Love the movies. Used to play the quote game with my son. Thank the hubby for a good one 🙂

    Can’t resist this from The Big Chill. My favorite:

    Michael: I don’t know anyone who could get through the day without two or three juicy rationalizations. They’re more important than sex.

    Sam Weber: Ah, come on. Nothing’s more important than sex.

    Michael: Oh yeah? Ever gone a week without a rationalization?

    • Florence,

      I had no idea you were such a movie buff! I too played the quote game growing up…it’s a great way to pass the time on road trips.

      I love the moment in Terms of Endearment when she’s beating on the nurse’s desk and screaming for her daughter to get her medicine. I don’t know exactly what she’s saying at that moment, but that scene always resonated with me.

      Thanks for playing!

      Christi

  2. “We don’t need no stinking badges!” from Treasure of the Sierra Madre and Blazing Saddles

    Like Florence, I could go on all day. But I’ve always thought the badges quote was very cool.

    • Monica,

      That reminds me of my favorite line from “Back to the Future”,

      “Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads.”

      Love your line!

      Christi

    • M.,

      So are you a John Wayne fan? The hubby introduced me to his movies, my favorite one is True Grit with McClintock taking a close second (except the end of McClintock is moronic…I can’t watch it. But I love every other scene)

      Christi

        • In that case, I highly recommend you go rent True Grit soon. (The older version, not the remake that just came out last winter)

          He does a remarkable job as Rooster Cogburn, so much so that I believe he won an academy award?

          It’s a book too if you prefer to read it first 🙂

          Christi

  3. O’ I really like that one. Hmmm, a favorite movie quote. I would have to go with “Just perscuz!” from “Home for the Holidays” with Holly Hunter and Robert Downey Jr. Hilarious.

  4. Regina,

    Yippee! I found another kindred spirit who likes that movie!

    Seriously, I watch that movie every single year before Thanksgiving.

    The scene where she’s walking in the big-ass pink coat and the prom queen drives up and she’s trying to talk to her while her brother is ripping his car up and down the road makes me laugh so hard tears come to my eyes EVERY SINGLE TIME. It reminds me so much of my brother and the crap he used to do in front of my friends. (He’s a mechanic now so his love of cars started early)

    I think my favorite line from that movie is, “This is my lamp, you can’t have it.”

    That movie is sheer brilliance!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

