Writing Quote Friday (Monday Edition)

I didn’t do a writing quote last Friday because of the super fun caption contest (click here to see the winners). 

Today’s writing quotes are from Jackie Collins…

If you want to achieve your dreams, you must follow them, and the best way to follow them is not to think about wanting to be very rich, but to think about doing something that you really want to do.
 
*****
I don’t believe in writing anything that I don’t know about or haven’t researched about personally. I like to transport the reader to places, and in order to do that I have to do the research.
*****
Do not copy my style! The first rule of writing is write about what you know, not what you think you know. So, think about what you’ve done in your life and write about that.

7 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday (Monday Edition)

  1. M. and Florence,

    Thanks for stopping by on this Monday edition of Writing Quote Friday! Glad you enjoyed these. She had so many great quotes I couldn’t just pick one 😀

    Christi

  2. I’m amazed by novelists who can write so vividly and authoritatively about eras they haven’t lived through. No matter how much research you do, how can you ever “know” another era? It reminds me of the quote – “The past is another country.” But some writers stretch the “write what you know” rule successfully and I’m glad they do!

  3. Monica,

    I really like that quote about the past is another country. Hmmmm, me thinks that may appear as a quote Friday sometime 😀

    Christi

  4. I’m only getting the chance now to comment on your quotes. Loved them all! When I thought about what I wanted out of life after a car accident almost ended it, I decided that I would chase the dream that made my heart sing. Life has been glorious ever since. :o)
    Karen

  5. Karen,

    What a wonderful way to look at a car accident…as an opportunity instead of a burden. A lovely spin on things!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

