You’ll Find Me #wordmongering

I’m on Twitter and have been for a few months now. I’ve figured out what hashtags are, how to make big long links tiny, and how to respond to the @ messages from others.

And as of a few days ago, I’ve become a big fan of Wordmongering.

Quick definition: writers on Twitter commit to start writing at the top of every hour (on the :00) and then stop at the bottom of the hour (on the :30). Then they pause for a half hour (to gather snacks, coffee, throw another load of laundry in, etc…)Β and then dive right back in at the top of the hour again.

In other words, it’s short spurts of writing followed by a break that’s just long enough to get stuff done.

Lots of writers are discovering this (Hello fellow Wordmonger M. Howlet!) and I can’t stress enough how supportive this group of fellow writers is to each other.

Monica Marie started the whole #wordmongering movement (click here to read more about it and the story of how she started) and she checks in with everyone after a session. Her and the other members are very supportive and cheer each other on. Plus, it’s always fun to hang out with other writers!

Are you on Twitter? If so, what are your favorite writing groups?

22 thoughts on “You’ll Find Me #wordmongering

    • Florence,

      You’ll love it! You check in with the other “mongers” a few minutes before the top of the hour, say 9:00am and then write for half an hour, until 9:30am. Then everyone who participated puts up their word count or progress on Twitter. Then the other “mongers” cheer you on!

      Then, from 9:30am to 10:00am you do other stuff from your “real life” that needs to get done. Then, it starts all over again.

      This goes on around the clock, every hour. It’s a great motivation and easy to work in half-hour blocks of time. Plus, everyone cheers you on so you stay super motivated…perfect for a slug like me :D.

      I really think you’ll like it. If you want, we can do it together tomorrow. I’ll do it at 11:00am (pacific time) and I’d love to see you there too!

      Christi

      • From 2pm-4pm EST tomorrow I have a swim meet with two friends and I need all themotivation for that as I can get.

        I’ll write you an email and set something up for later in the day or Friday … thanks πŸ™‚

        • You are a swimmer?! I swam on a team for nine years, and lettered every year in high school!

          What’s your favorite stroke? Mine started as the backstroke since I hated putting my face in the water, and then moved on to the breaststroke when I was in high school.

          Tell me how your meet goes.

          Christi

  1. I hadn’t heard of that yet. Thanks for sharing that. As a working writer, with my stepkids coming for the summer soon. That might be a good way to get some writing done and still get everything else done.

    • Lara,

      First, welcome! I love seeing new faces around here, especially ones kind enough to comment.

      As for the wordmongering…I have six-year-old twins so I do it when they are in school. I find it really motivates me and it’s the perfect chunk of time to write, then balances nicely with the other boring stuff I need to get done (laundry, cleaning, feeding people who live here :D)

      Hope to see you there,

      Christi

  2. So *that’s* what the wordmongering thing is. I was going to follow the hashtag and figure it out one of these days…thanks for the explanation. Maybe I’ll try it.

  3. Monica,

    Thanks so much for posting the pictures of your prize package on your blog. My twins really loved seeing everything!

    I hope to see you #wordmongering soon!

    Christi

  4. Thank you so much for spreading the word! It’s nice to see that someone “gets it” so completely! What you said about doing “real life” stuff in between times is EXACTLY what those little “breaks” are for. (That and the fact that I’m ADHD so sitting still to write longer than a half hour makes anything that I write a little dodgey! LOL) It makes me feel so good to see that so many other writers are responding to the way that I do things (now that I’ve shared it!) Now we all have each other to cheer each other on….spur each other one….etc. Something about knowing that you’re writing at the same times as others is freeing and inspiring.

    The only thing to remember is that I promote total positivity! Whatever word count you get in that 30 mins is something to celebrate! How many times have you been staring at a blank page wondering what to write? If you know you have only that 30 mins & that there are others that are writing too….it lets your mind know it’s time to write! So get that word count in! YAY!!

    Again! Loving this post! It’s awesome & amazing!

    Moni~!

  5. Moni,

    I’m sensing a guest hosting opportunity in the future! Would you be willing to come on and talk about mongering and how it got started and how it works and how awesome it is and how writers everywhere are catching on? πŸ˜€

    Christi

  6. I discovered #wordmongering thanks to you (maybe M. Howlet did too)! So glad I did. I’ve been doing various word sprints and timed writing prompts for a while, but I really like the idea of #wordmongering and everybody is so nice and friendly. πŸ™‚
    (Oh, btw, were you looking for critique groups? You may be interested in my latest blog post.)

  7. M.,

    Now I’m confused…aren’t you the M. Howlet who I was chatting with about mongering via Twitter a few days ago?

    I checked out your post on critique groups. You had some really great resources that I plan on exploring further this weekend.

    Thanks for visiting,
    Christi

    • I’m sorry, Christi, that was just an example of my horrible sense of humour. Yes, it was me. You merely made my surname sound a lot fancier. πŸ™‚
      Thank you, I’m glad you could use the links! I hope you’ll find something useful. πŸ™‚

    • Hehe, incidentally I’ve just sent you an email. :3 Yes I have. Thank you so much! It’s brilliant! πŸ˜€ The judges seem to have been working hard. Really sweet of you all.

  8. I didn’t think I would make use of Twitter but with my daughter’s assistance I gave it a try last fall. It’s a quick and easy way to stay in touch with a larger number of people. My Facebook associations are mostly personal. I don’t spend a lot of time on Twitter, but I do check in regularly. I particularly like #amwriting and #wordbitches. The latter is a smaller group, mostly people I met at the last conference I attended.

    • You’re a wordbitch too?! I LOVE their site and found them through Twitter and am a regular reader (and the first guest host) of their blog. Have you tried #litchat or #askagent? Those are helpful too.

      I’m the same way with Facebook vs. Twitter. Facebook is a lot of my high school, close friends, and family connections while Twitter is for writers and writing information.

      I’ll be wordmongering tonight πŸ˜€

      Christi

  9. I must admit that I like the idea of #wordmongering. I’m not quite as far into Twitter as I’d like though… I can respond to the @ messages and I understand hashtags, but the links thing still confuses me. lol

    I got into #wordmongering a few days ago, so I hope I’ll see you there sometime!

  10. B.A.,

    I use the site “tinyurl.com” for links. You simply copy your super long link, paste it into the box, and then it comes up with a small link that takes up way less characters. Then you use that link in your Tweet. I’ve seen it reduce the # of characters by 2/3 before so it’s really helpful.

    I plan on doing some wordmongering tonight so I hope to see you there (I’m on PST time and plan to start around 8pm)

    Are we following each other on Twitter yet? What’s your name so I can follow you?

    Christi

  11. Hey Christi! I’d LOVE to do a guest spot on your site! Sorry I’m just now getting back to you! It’s been a little hectic with me lately. I finished a novel…am in the process of editing it…..AND querying at the same time. Busy but I love love love it! Get in contact with me! You can email me anytime! periwinklefroggie at yahoo dot com. Look forward to hearing from you!

  12. Hey! Thank you so much for your informative article!! I’m getting back into writing and the whole “twitter world” so this was SO awesome to read about!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    Cheers!
    L Finch

  13. L,

    Yippee for you for getting back into writing!!!!

    Since I wrote this blog post, I’ve also hosted Monica on my blog so she could talk about the whole mongering movement firsthand. (Check out my post on May 25th)

    Also, you may be a fan of Editmongering. It’s the same thing as word, but instead of writing new, you’re editing your drafts. I’m usually doing that each night after my twins are in bed, so I hope to see you there!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

