What’s the Best Money You Ever Spent?

Courtney Miller-Callihan (Literary Agent with Sanford J. Greenburger Associates) is hosting a fun contest right now, and the winner gets a prize of a bio paragraph critique.

Entering is easy–simply post your response to the writing prompt, The best money I ever spent, on your blog and then provide her a link to your response.

Click here for further details.

Here’s my entry…

*********************************************************************

I pinched the foam tubes between my thumb and forefinger, and then released pressure. Ever vigilant, the two yellow promises of silence sprang back to shape. 

Darkness approached, and I needed to get ready. 

Judging by the faded lines on the kitchen counter, Mother had spent her day like the wind; first blowing the neighbor down the block for her usual amount, then blowing the earned money on a yet another bag of euphoria and forgetfulness. Father’s muttered curses as he’d stumbled up the front steps gave every indication he’d spent his day on a bar stool. 

Tonight they would fight. 

Again.

Tonight I’d spend the night huddled beneath my bed as glass, and possibly bones, shattered in the next room. 

Again. 

My bits of foam emitted soft, rhythmic sighs as I rolled them between my fingers. As usual, they kept their form despite my twisting, pinching abuse. I only hoped I’d stay as resilient while I waited out the days until my 18th birthday—seven more years and I’d be free. 

Beyond my bedroom door, the impending storm gathered speed as shrieked accusations bounced against the living room wall. Angry, flailing limbs would likely be next.

I flattened and then inserted my foam tubes. Seconds later I lay back on my bed, reveling in the quiet they provided. 

On my eleventh birthday, I’d blown all my babysitting money on a box of earplugs. 

It was the best money I ever spent.

 

6 thoughts on “What’s the Best Money You Ever Spent?

  1. Florence,

    Though mostly fiction, the story does come from one bit of truth of my life growing up.

    My dad worked with, and then eventually drove, heavy machinery for his job while I was growing up. As a result, those foam earplugs were always all around the house.

    I loved squishing them down, and then watching them slowly return to their original shape while they made a whisper of a sound :).

    And then when I became a bartender in college I learned just how valuable they were. Those earplugs protected my ears each weekend when the bar hosted very loud bands.

    Thanks for checking it out!

    Christi

  2. Jo,

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my story.

    If you check out my comment to Florence, you’ll see why it was so authentic…I used to play with my dad’s foam earplugs (not the used ones of course!) that he used for his job. I LOVED the faint noises they made when I squished them down and then they sprang back up again. And they came in all kinds of fun colors too 🙂

    Thanks again!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

