A Stolen Life

Last week, my name came up on the libary’s waiting list to check out the Kindle. I picked it up, familiarized myself  with all the buttons again, (I’ve checked it out once before) and started flipping through the books I could choose from.

What a perfect time to get the flu! I spent the next day resting on the couch and reading  The Help.

Yep, read it in one day. An amazing book and one I definitely recommend.

Then, I got a little pouty because I could only choose from the books the library had purchased, I couldn’t buy my own. So, I’m scrolling through the twelve (how can there be only TWELVE!) books and I see a name I recognize…Jaycee Dugard.  

Quick reminder: Jaycee Dugard was kidnapped at age eleven while walking to her bus stop. She was held captive by her kidnappers for eighteen years, during which she gave birth to two daughters.  

In leiu of my usual post, I’m going to advocate you purchase her book,  A Stolen Life: A Memoir.

Here’s a description from the Amazon Page, including how a portion of the proceeds go to benefit other kidnapped children…

In the summer of 1991 I was a normal kid. I did normal things. I had friends and a mother who loved me. I was just like you. Until the day my life was stolen.

For eighteen years I was a prisoner. I was an object for someone to use and abuse.

For eighteen years I was not allowed to speak my own name. I became a mother and was forced to be a sister. For eighteen years I survived an impossible situation.

On August 26, 2009, I took my name back. My name is Jaycee Lee Dugard. I don’t think of myself as a victim. I survived.

A Stolen Life is my story—in my own words, in my own way, exactly as I remember it.

The pine cone is a symbol that represents the seed of a new beginning for me. To help facilitate new beginnings, with the support of animal-assisted therapy, the J A Y C Foundation provides support and services for the timely treatment of families recovering from abduction and the aftermath of traumatic experiences—families like my own who need to learn how to heal. In addition, the J A Y C Foundation hopes to facilitate awareness in schools about the important need to care for one another.

Our motto is “Just Ask Yourself to . . . Care!”

A portion of my proceeds from this memoir will be donated to The J A Y C Foundation Inc.

www.thejaycfoundation.org

**********************************************************************

What is the last book you read? How did it affect you?

2 thoughts on “A Stolen Life

  1. Not that I’m glad you got the flu Christi, but I’m glad you had the chance to read those two books 🙂 I too have been playing “catch up” with my TBR list. The Help has been in our house for over a year and I have just begun reading it on Sunday. Great stuff so far.

    I’ll get to your book selection, or I should say, I’ll add it to my list.
    I don’t own a Kindle, but instead have PC Kindle, free from amazon. My last book before The Help is the topic of my review in two weeks … Shelter by Harlan Cooben. It’s a thriller and I read it in one day because I could not put it down. Thanks for rec. Jacee’s book, it sounds rivoting.

  2. Florence,

    I just read another one off the library’s Kindle yesterday called “Room, A Novel”. It is told from the POV of a 5 year old boy who’s mother was kidnapped and kept in a soundproof shelter for seven years by her captor.

    Not sure what is up with the libarary’s selection of books to choose from, since of the 12, two are kidnapping related, but I’m definitely going to try and convince them to add to their list. Any suggestions 🙂 ?

    Christi

Leave a Reply

