Blog Award, Cool List, and What Others REALLY Think of Your Blog

I’ve received an award from Kate, who runs a seriously cool blog called Words and Deeds–A Writing Life.

She gave me a Versatile Blogger award! How cool is that?

But, there’s a catch to getting this award.

*shoves acceptance speech up shirt sleeve and looks embarrassed for being all greedy with the award before I earned it*

I have to tell you seven random things about me first…

And, here’s more rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you 
  2.  Share 7 random things about you 
  3.  Share the love with your favorite bloggers 
  4.  Put up the Versatile Blogger Award picture on your blog

So, without further ado, here are seven random things about me!

1. Fifteen years ago my mom and I survived a car accident. A “head-on collision while going seventy-five miles an hour on the freeway” kind of car accident. It was 12:30 at night and the other driver fell asleep, crossed the freeway median, and plowed right into us. My mom is an amazingly tough lady…she had to have bone taken from her hip and put into her neck to fuse two of her neck bones together. Left a brutal scar, but the point is, she made it through.  The takeaway of this story…wear your seatbelt!

2. My high school sport…swimming. I started swimming competitively when I was 9, went to Junior Olympics when I was 13, and lettered my freshman, sophomore, and junior year. (I had to quit my senior year, but that’s another story)

3. I am a mother to twins who were born four weeks premature. They were the “poster children” for the local chapter of our hometown’s March of Dimes organization when they were three months old.

4. My favorite flower is a daisy.

5. My computer chair has a seriously annoying squeak that I cannot fix. Or, maybe I’ve just learned to love the noise because I don’t try to fix it anymore.

6. My husband and I waited to, well…you know, until we were married. Yep, true story!

7. I’m a chronic abuser of exclamation points, ellipsis, and smiley faces. They’re all over my blog…and my emails. I can’t help myself 🙂 :).

And, now for seven bloggers I want to pass this award on to…

1. Florence Fois

2. Artemis Grey

3. Margo Kelly

4. PK Hrezo

5. Winona Cross

6. All the Wordbitches (Please, tell me you know their blog. Visit!)

7. Teralyn Pilgrim

And, if you’re reading this blog I’m betting you’re a writer, and if you’re a writer, you need to know this…

25 Things Writers Should Stop Doing…Right F*&king Now.

Click on it, learn it, live it.

And finally, since brutal honesty seems to be the theme of today’s post…have you ever wondered what readers think of your blog? No, what they REALLY think of your blog?

Click HERE to find out.

19 thoughts on “Blog Award, Cool List, and What Others REALLY Think of Your Blog

  1. Wow and double wow! It’s incredible you’re here. You know, when there’s an accident reported on the radio, I think they should state weather those survived or died wore seatbelts. If people hear the survivor almost always wore a seatbelt it might get through to the thick-skulls that they should wear one, too.

    Congratulations! on the award. Now I’m off to check out a few links you posted.

    • Diane,

      The airbags were a plus too…although did you know when an airbag expands it fills the car with a stinky powder that smells similar to smoke? I thought the car was on fire at first.

      I hope you enjoy getting to know the other blogs!

      Christi

    • Winona,

      How’s your book coming along? I hope well, and that you’re still getting use out of that map 🙂

      As for getting the image, I think you can just click on it, and then copy/paste the link that shows up at the top of the computer directly into your blog post. I use wordpress though, so I’m not sure about blogger.

      Thanks for visiting,

      Christi

  2. Christi, so sorry I wasn’t at my desk at the crack of dawn as usual. Duty called and I was off and doing until ten minutes ago. Sooo …

    Thanks for the award and the chance to spread the cheer. I read the “25 Things …” article and loved it so much I think I sent it out on one of my loops.

    Your story only proves, we are here until we are called elsewhere and you were needed here … especially for that great hubby and to give birth to two wonderful children 🙂 Loved you answers … I’ll post it on an “off” day so it doesn’t get caught up in my schedule. Thanks my dear friend 🙂

    • Florence,

      Hope all is well with you.

      I LOVED that 25 things list so much I had to share it with everyone I know that writes. And, I admit, I cringed when reading some of the list because it described me perfectly.

      Looking forward to learning seven new things about you!

      Christi

  3. Thanks for thinking of us Christi! So awesome!
    I can’t believe some of your answers. That accident sounds horrendous. So glad both you and your Mom came out okay.
    I’m off now to check out some of the other blogs!

    • Trish,

      Of COURSE I included the Wordbitches in this list! I love you and the other “bitches” blog, and really enjoyed guest hosting it a while back.

      Always wear your seatbelt…it does save lives 🙂

      Christi

  4. Thank you so much for the award and the shout-out! I’m honored!

    That sounds like a terrible accident… you guys are troopers! My husband and I waited until we were married too, and it’s cool to know other people do that too.

    Thanks again!

  5. Woohoo! Thank you so much for the award!

    I’m SO FREAKING GLAD THAT YOU AND YOUR MOM ARE OKAY!!! Awesome that you were/are such a great swimmer! My mom always said my sister and I were part fish, but I could never compete

    Always love hearing the stories of other twins 😀 And so great to learn the rest 🙂

    And now I’ve got to go update my blog with my own blog award… a little bird reminded me that I haven’t post since… uh, since a long time.. so here we go… 🙂

  6. Thank you, Christi! Sorry it took me so long! Wow to the accident and your preemie babies! That must have been tough. So so glad everything turned out well.
    I am off to check out that link! Oh and congrats on your award!! 🙂

  7. PK,

    Both were tough, and both made me a much stronger lady 🙂

    Thanks for visiting, and now I’m looking forward to learning new things about you!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

