I’m a Geeky, Unpublished Hermit

FYI: I shamelessly lifted the title of this blog post from Trish Loye Elliott over at the Wordbitches blog.

Trish recently wrote a wonderful article about how platform building (blogging, social media, reading other blogs, commenting on other blogs, and not being a moron on Twitter and Facebook) is something that her dear hubby doesn’t understand.

Click HERE to read Trish’s post and to see firsthand how she describes herself as a “A Geeky, Unpublished Hermit”, which is hands down, my new favorite writing phrase 🙂

How do people in your life support (or not) your writing?

10 thoughts on “I’m a Geeky, Unpublished Hermit

  1. Support varies. Sexy Bald Man is wonderful and asks about my progress regularly, even writing with me on occasion. He is the grammar king and I can shoot him any question and know he will come through. My 10 year old son is dubious and keeps asking me why I want to write when I can just be a doctor. Kids are so one dimensional at times. Friends are generally well meaning but can often be condescending, calling it my little hobby.

    Geeky, Unpublished Hermit suits me perfectly. 🙂

    • Kate,

      Oh how I wish I had someone close to me that knew grammar, and would be willing to check over my pages for all my mistakes!

      My kids are six, and just beginning to understand what I mean when I say, “Mommy’s doing her words.” I think they still see the computer as competition for my time and attention 🙂

      Thanks for visiting!

      Christi

  2. The hobby. Yes, I get that a lot even though I’ve been regularly published for 13 years now. It’s like writing isn’t a real job. My biggest fans/supporters are my kids. When my first book came out in 2010, my then 8-year-old wanted to be the first to read the first page out loud to me. I love him! Since then, I’ve read it to him and he’s read it for silent reading at school, and he tells everyone that his mom wrote it. When I get down and call my writing not a job, my kids remind me that I make money at it, so it must be a job.

    It’s funny, but writing is one of the only professions where you have to make it big (sell millions) to become a recognised writer amongst family and friends.

    Now I’m going to check the link you posted. Thanks, Christi.

    • Diane,

      Auuuugggghhhh to the saying “The Hobby”! Especially since you’ve got several books to your name!

      I love that your son is so supportive of your work that he brings it to school. Such pride! I can hardly wait until mine are old enough to “get” my book. They can read now, and often sneak up to the computer and read sentences outloud to me, so it’s only a matter of time :).
      Thanks for visiting!

      Christi

  3. Hey Christi! Thanks for the linky love. A geeky, unpubbed hermit is exactly what I am. Though I’m really hoping to change the unpubbed part!
    Since I featured DH in the post, he’s actually read it. And laughed! There might be hope for him yet. He’s still my biggest supporter and thinks blogging is taking too much time away from real writing… I hope you’ve got good support. Happy writing!

    • Trish,

      I really think you’ve coined a new favorite description for writers with your “Geeky, unpublished hermit” phrase.

      I’ve got great support from the dear hubby about my choice to be a writer, but he has no idea what I really do to make it happen.

      As for your hubby thinking you’re wasting time blogging, send him over here to my blog so he can see all the new people you just got exposed to! And how you’re single-handedly starting a new catch-phrase for writers 🙂

      I totally think you need to make t-shirts.

      Christi

  4. Christi, thanks to you and Trish for this. The rule in non-for-profit is NEVER put friends or relatives on your board. Why? Seems they are the most clueless to what you are really about. It was a paying job and still most people thought it was “cute” to actually have to deal with eight to tweleve people who controlled my destiny.

    Writing? Yes, again. Most family think it’s “cute” that I finally found a usefull passtime for my retirement years and often equate it to crochet. Adorable and maybe I’ll sell, but not to them.

    About DH’s reasons why Trish should not participate in the social madness? Well, first of all even us Americans know Margaret Atwood and I’m sure her blog is as controversial and fun as her books. Does Nora Roberts blog? No. Do other best selling authors blog. Yes. Pick your poison and do what is right for you. I am “social network challenged” and can handle the blog, like to sneak pics of the grandkids on Facebook, have a twitter account I rarely use and refuse to participate in any more loops, networks or platform building.

    You and Trish are pros at all of this. PK has a doctorate in twitter like my friend Nina Badzin. Maybe I’ll learn from you and from them … in the meantime the blog is my fav. Write on !!

    • Florence,

      I’m a big fan of “Singing a simple song well.”

      In other words, don’t try and sing an opera or a song that’s not within your vocal range (Quick shout out to Whitney and the song “I’ll Always Love You”) because you’ll end up not doing well. Instead, find what works for you and excel greatly!

      I’m like you…I do the blog thing regularly and have figured out a schedule that works for me and my life right now. As for Twitter, I’m still learning, and Facebook I’ve found I use it to keep in touch with friends, old and new, and family that is spread out across America.

      Write on my friend. Write on.

      Christi

  5. Most of my family are super supportive, especially my husband and kids and let’s not forget dear old Mum. I live in a small community and many of them are supportive, although they’d much prefer hearing about my accomplishments rather than the writing itself. Still, I really can’t complain. Checking out the link now. Thanks, Christi!

    • Laura,

      Loving all the support you get from your family and friends!

      I can see why they want to hear about the accomplishments rather than the process. I think the “process” is something that only other writers can fully understand 🙂

      Christi

Leave a Reply

