Motivation Equals Forgetfulness

UPDATE:

Something is wrong with the comment feature on my blog. Is anyone else having trouble finding the button to click to leave your comment? Florence Fois notified me of the problem, and I can’t figure out how to fix this?

 

I’ve been writing so much lately, and am so into my imaginary world and my imaginary friends (my characters) that I totally forgot to do a blog post for today! That’s a sure sign I’m enjoying my writing time :).

How do you know when you’re really into your work, or really motivated?

8 thoughts on “Motivation Equals Forgetfulness

  1. Hi Christi,

    When I’m really into my characters and the world I created for them, whether editing or writing, I sometimes don’t hear the phone ring. 😀 Or I could forget the time and there is no supper. I can get so involved that I can tune out the real world so easy. I call that my ‘writing/editing vortex’. I love those moments because I get a lot of work done! 😀 Karen

    • Karen,

      I slip into such a deep “writing/editing vortex” that I don’t hear anything. This is why I write only at night—if I was to write during the day when my twins are awake they would quickly figure out they would have free reign of the house.

      So, about two minutes after I kiss them goodnight is when my writing begins :).

      Christi

    • Diane,

      I’ve looked at the clock, started writing, and checked the clock again to see that two or three hours have passed by.

      I like the phrase Karen used in her above comment for this phenomenon…writing/editing vortex 🙂

      Thanks for visiting,

      Christi

  2. I’m envious of your writing mojo. I’m trying to find mine after a 2 week break. It’s tough getting back in, even though I love it. I’m so glad you’re on a roll though. I love being sucked into imaginary worlds, so much fun. I’m off to force my way back into mine. 🙂

    PS I’m not finding anything wrong with your comments section.

  3. Trish,

    No reason to be too envious…I don’t fall into the “vortex” all that often. But when I do, it’s great.

    Now I’m sounding like that guy who does the Dos Equis commercials 🙂

    Christi

Leave a Reply

