No Training Wheels (oh, and a quote too)

Yesterday, I taught my twins how to ride their bikes without training wheels. I’d been working with them the past week (and by “working with” I mean I huffed and puffed alongside their bike with a firm grip upon their seat while panting out encouraging words) but yesterday was the day I finally let go.

My daughter went first.

Yep, I let go and stood in the street, fighting back tears (much like I am now as I type this) as my daughter took off on her own. She stopped shortly after with a look of immense pride and amazement. Her brother gave her a bouquet of flowers (weeds he picked from the yard) I gave her a hug, we practiced a few more times, and then I pronounced her an official bike rider.

Then, there was my son.

Quite a different story.

I wheeled him into the street, huffed alongside for a while while making sure that he not only remembered how to use the brakes (he likes to drag his feet instead of using the brakes) and why it was important to stop properly (in addition to the dragging feet thing, he thinks it’s fun to stop by ramming his front wheel into the sidewalk curb). He promised to brake and stop correctly, and then I told him it was time.

He told me, “I’m shaking with fear.”

I told him, “You can do it. I can’t keep up with you anymore. It’s time. You’ve got your balance and you know how to stop. You just need to do it.”

And then he did.

He even stopped properly. His sister ran into the street and gave him a bear hug while jumping up and down and shouting “You did it!”

Then, he practiced a few more times, did a fantastic crash into the sidewalk curb at high speed, and got right back on after an “I told you so” type of lecture from me about using his brakes.

I proclaimed him an official bike rider. Then, hubby came home and all three of us showed him what we could do.

A great day indeed.

Today’s quote is from Dale Carnegie…

Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success.

10 thoughts on “No Training Wheels (oh, and a quote too)

  1. That is what I refer to as a proud yet sad moment. Another milestone has come and gone. Awwww. Way to go Mom and big babies!

  2. Christi, I won’t even tell you what happens the first time they drive, go to college … for me even before those … sleep away camp 🙂

    Don’t you just love Carnegie? Great moment, wonderful quote. High five to mom !!

  3. Congrats on the big moment! I recently transitioned from telling my son to go faster on his bike (with training wheels) to telling him to slow down. 🙂 That was a good moment, too.

    • Wendy,

      Me and the hubby just took them to the park, and I found myself watching my son and thinking, Ok, right now I’m trying to get him to go faster, but within a year I’m probably going to be saying things like “Stay on the path! Slow down!” and other gems.

      Thanks for visiting,

      Christi

  4. I told my 83 year old brother last year our father loved me more than him. He said,

    “How do you figure.” I said, “In 1943 he bought you a bicycle and not me.”

    “What does that prove?”

    “Dad didn’t care if you got killed in traffic on a bike, but he didn’t want it to happen to me.”

    How is that for a little boys logic. For the record, a couple of years later he bought my younger brother a bike. I have never owned bike.

    PDP

    • May,

      Siblings say the best stuff to each other! I know my brother and I had some real zingers back and forth 🙂

      Christi

    • Kate,

      It’s so funny that you were the first one too! Were you first by a few minutes and only because there was one person to push you along, or were you first by days/weeks/months?

      My daughter has done everything before her brother. She learned to crawl several months before he did, and would roam the house while he just laid on his blanket and watched her. Same for walking.

      What I loved most about the day they finally learned to ride without me was the total and complete joy they had for each other when they learned. They do well with being happy, and not TOO jealous, of each other 🙂

      Christi

Leave a Reply

