Writing Quote Friday, Another Contest, and Pitching

Today’s writing quote is from Octavia Butler…

You don’t start out writing good stuff. You start out writing crap and thinking it’s good stuff, and then gradually you get better at it. That’s why I say one of the most valuable traits is persistence.

Also, did you know it’s August already?! (Cue dance party music as I gleefully envision school starting again for my twins) Well, I figured I’d end summer with another fun blog contest, and the author I’ve wrangled into judging the contest is willing to give away TWO CRITIQUES  as well as copies of her book. Plus, I’ll throw in my usual package of writing goodies.

The author judge and I are still working out the details, so watch for more information in the coming weeks.  

And finally, we’ve all heard the phrase “show, don’t tell” right? Well, the  following video shows what NOT to do when pitching at a conference.

How about you? Are you prepared to discuss your writing?

5 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday, Another Contest, and Pitching

    • P,

      You keep on going, keep putting your ass in the seat, keep your fingers to the keyboard, because maybe the next day is the day that the crap turns to greatness!

      Happy Writing!

      Christi

    • P,

      Also, I’ve read your stuff and KNOW for a FACT that you don’t write crap! Now, plunk yourself in that chair and let your brain go wild :D.

      Christi

  1. Ha!The video was hilarious! And I’m sure agents have seen it all!
    Excited about the contest! Thanks for hosting another!! My critique from Reid was the best critique I have ever received!

    • Talynn,

      This is going to be a fun contest. We’re thinking a captioning contest and are still trying to select a picture. The author has twins too so we’re considering something along the lines of a funny kid picture.

      Since I originally wrote this post I’ve nailed some more details down…You’ll be able to “meet” the author on August 14th, and the contest kicks off on the 15th. Deadline for entries will be midnight on the 24th.

      I’d love for you to talk about it as much as possible (hint hint 🙂 ) because this time the critique is for an entire FIRST CHAPTER. Yeah, I said the WHOLE CHAPTER. Author judge is super generious! And there’s more great swag too.

      Reid and I have already agreed to make the “Best First” contest an annual event so be sure to hone your sentences for next summer.

      Congrats again to you!

      Christi

Leave a Reply

