The Ethics of Reviewing a Book You Haven’t Read

Another busy day in Corbettville, so here’s a older post. Hope you enjoy!

There’s a growing trend on Amazon—people reviewing books they haven’t read.

I’ve seen comments by reviewers who openly state they didn’t read the book, and others who state they merely flipped through the pages, and others who state they only read a few pages and then quit.

What do you think about this practice? Is it fair to the author? Is it fair to the potential buyer of a book who is checking reviews to see if they want to purchase?

 
2 thoughts on “The Ethics of Reviewing a Book You Haven’t Read

  1. If you haven’t read the book, even if you couldn’t finish it, I don’t think you should review a book. The people that say “I couldn’t finish it. I put it down just a few pages in.” confuse me the most. How do you know it doesn’t get way better? Someone once told me Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is slow in the beginning…what if everyone just gave up on that one?

    I’ll tell you the other unfair reviewing act – SPOILERS! It’s one thing to give a warning, but when you’re reading through a review and then *pow* you find out the whole story it makes you feel cheated! That’s just my pet peeve!

    • Christy,

      I always go back to my number one favorite book, Gone with the Wind. When I first read it I was wondering what all the fuss was about since all I was experiencing was a whiny, self-serving girl. Then I got past page 100 and fell in total love. Imagine if more felt like I did about the first 100 and gave poor word-of-mouth reviews?

      I’m TOTALLY with you on the spoiler alerts. If I’m checking out reviews it’s because I want to know other reader’s thoughts, not read book reports on the entire book!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Christi

Leave a Reply

