Writing Quote Friday

Today’s writing quote comes from Michael Murphy. (I found this quote buried in a fantastic blog post aptly titled, The Best Query Letters Do…What?)

I feel a good query letter is like a good party invitation.  I want to easily access the day, time, and location of the party…and who’s throwing the party.  An excess of creativity that buries those facts in too many references to the theme of the party, or require me to pop virtual balloons to reveal the details pushes me toward making up an “Unfortunately I can’t attend” story about having a dentist’s appointment or some other obstacle at the time of the party.

How about you? Are you at the querying stage of your writing career? If so, what are some good resources you’ve found for the “How To” of writing a query letter?

One thought on “Writing Quote Friday

  1. I tried to disable the “have to give all your info including name, email address, blog, etc…” to make a comment feature, and now I’m heard from a reader that it’s created a problem—meaning commenting on my blog is now impossible.

    Anyone else having trouble? Shoot me an email and I’ll try and get to the bottom of this conundrum.

    Christi

Leave a Reply

