BookTrade Begins! What Books Do You Have to Trade?

Based on the reaction to Tuesday’s post, I’m thinking I’m onto something. I hate to see good books languish on a bookshelf when others could use them, so let’s make this idea a reality!

Simply leave a comment on this post with the writing-related book(s) you no longer use and would be willing to trade for someone else’s book(s). 

I’ll create a master list on this post and then we’ll figure out who wants what, and then each person can mail out their unwanted books to who wants them, and wait by their mailboxes to receive the ones they wanted.

Let’s make it easy using a one in, one out system. As in, if you put a book in you get to pick a book. We’ll deal with multiple people wanting the same book if it happens.

Sound good?

Here’s what’s up for trade so far. And now, I’m adding another section after this list to focus on what other writers are looking for, and want to trade you to get!

1. The Marshall Plan to Novel Writing: A 16 Step program guarenteed to take you from idea to completed manuscript, by Evan Marshall (It’s in good condition, with the exception of a few dog-eared pages)

2. The Writer on Her Work: Volume Two, New Essays in New Territory, edited by Janet Sternburg (Excellent condition)

3. How to Write a Children’s Book and Get Published, by Barbara Seuling (Excellent/Mint condition)

4. Voice & Style – Developing Your Own Personal Voice – a Writer’s Digest Book by Johnny Payne  (Mint Condition)

5. Novelist’s Essential Guide to Crafting Scenes – Raymond Obstfeld -a Writer’s Digest Book  (Mint Condition)

6. The War of Art – Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles – Steven Pressfield  (Mint Condition) *This may be traded already*

7. You Can Write A Memoir – Susan Carol Hauser   (Mint Condition)

8. Ozark Writers On Writing – Essays on Creativity – Edited by L. Pate (feisty people primarily from the Arkansas Ozarks – From writing westerns to wilderness to trade and on and on. I know this group and they are talented. (Mint condition).

9. The Right to Write – Julia Cameron  (Brand New)

10. Make Your Words Work – proven Techniques For Effective Writing–For Fiction and Non-Fiction – Like new

11. The Novel Writers Toolkit – A Guide to writing great fiction and getting it published – Bob Mayer – A Writer’s Digest Book

12. The Artist’s Way – Julia Cameron with Mark Bryan – New

13. The Artist’s Way At Work, Riding the Dragon – Twelve Weeks To Creative Freedom – Mark Bryan, Julia Cameron, and Catherine Allen.

14. Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Renni Browne and Dave King.

15. The  First Five Pages, Noah Lukeman

What other writers are looking for…

1. Sheri Degrom is looking for the following…reference info for the era 1910-1940. I’m looking for rural development (think the great plains states), fashion, cooking, daily living, modes of transportation for both city and rural – the affects of coming out of WWI and gearing up for WWII. I’d like to do even trades. Also – anything to do with ordinary daily life proceeding 1924 and about 10 years after. Contact Sheri directly at sdegrom (at) conwaycorp (dot) net

20 thoughts on “BookTrade Begins! What Books Do You Have to Trade?

  1. Sheri,

    Yay! Tell as many people as possible so we can get a huge list to pick from! (I’d hate to see us only have your ten and my two)

    Christi

    • Haley,

      I’m hoping lots of writers participate, especially since I’d love some new writing books 🙂 (Two of those on the list are mine)

      Christi

  2. Christi – I’ve culled a few shelves and here’s my list. I may be able to come up with a few more after I finish my writing for today and will check in with you tomorrow. Here’s what I have for today:
    Voice & Style – Developing Your Own Personal Voice – a Writer’s Digest Book by Johnny Payne – Mint Condition

    Novelist’s Essential Guide to Crafting Scenes – Raymond Obstfeld -a Writer’s Digest Book – Mint Condition

    The War of Art – Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles – Steven Pressfield – Mint Condition

    You Can Write A Memoir – Susan Carol Hauser – Mint Condition

    Ozark Writers On Writing – Essays on Creativity – Edited by L. Pate (feisty people primarily from the Arkansas Ozarks – From writing westerns to wilderness to trade and on and on. I know this group and they are talented. Mint condition.

    The Right to Write – Julia Cameron – Brand New

    Make Your Words Work – proven Techniques For Effective Writing–For Fiction and Non-Fiction – Like new

    The Novel Writers Tookkit – A Guide to writing great fiction and getting it published – Bob Mayer – A Writer’s Digest Book

    I think that’s eight Christi – I’ve set them aside in a special pile. I hope to report back in with more writing books. If anyone has reference books from the 1910 through 1940 era – I’d be glad to trade for those as well.

  3. Sheri,

    What a great list! I’m already drooling over ones I want! I’m going to take a break for lunch and then get these up right away.

    Thanks so much!

    Christi

    PS. What type of reference books are you looking for? Historical? Writing related? Any specific topic?

  4. I’m not waiting! I see one I would live to trade or swap. The War of Art! I know I have older books from that era( 1910 – 1940) if Ivan stand to part with them… If not I’d definitely be interested in a temporary swap if you are Sheri…

    • Talynn,

      Oooooh, I’m loving the premature swoop in and rule-breaking ways! This is getting fun!

      Talynn, can you access Sheri’s email direct from here, or should I send it to you? You two can connect and figure out research books and how to get her Art book.

      I’m loving that we have a first success story!

      Christi

    • I’m primarily looking for reference info for the era 1910-1940. I’m looking for rural development (think the great plains states), fashion, cooking, daily living, modes of transportation for both city and rural – the affects of coming out of WWI and gearing up for WWII. I’d like to do even trades. Also – anything to do with ordinary daily life proceeding 1924 and about 10 years after.

      I’ve added to my list:
      The Artist’s Way – Julia Cameron with Mark Bryan – New
      The Artist’s Way At Work, Riding the Dragon – Twelve Weeks To Creative Freedom – Mark Bryan, Julia Cameron, and Catherine Allen.

      Tylann – do you have reference – informative type books. I should specify American information I guess.

  5. Christi, this is a great idea !!There are three I won’t trade, a few more I already donated to Friends of the Library … but upon further investigation I have found the only two I have left.

    Self-Editing for Fictin Writers, Renni Browne and Dave King.

    The First Five Pages, Noah Lukeman.

    I hope these help your growing list of wonderful resources 🙂

    Good luck with this!!

  6. Pingback: Quote Friday « Christi Corbett's Blog

Leave a Reply

