Book Deal News

I am thrilled to announce that my novel, Along the Way Home, has been contracted for publication by Astraea Press.

Signing with Astraea Press wasn’t a decision I took lightly. At the time the contract was offered (on my birthday!!!!!) I had six agents and three editors (Medallion Press, Tor/Forge, and a small press) reviewing requested partials/fulls, an R&R offer from an agent, and an offer pending from another small press.

I happily walked away from all of the above because I believe so strongly in Astraea Press, and the niche they’ve carved out for themselves in an increasingly crowded marketplace.

What does that mean? Let me backtrack a bit and reveal something that happened a few weeks ago that perfectly illustrates why I chose to go with Astraea.

I was rejected by an agent who called my book lovely and sweet, raved about my writing and the storyline, but ended with the statement, “…let your characters engage in sex and describe the sex. As it stands, I’ll pass. Put the sex in and I’ll take another look.”

I assure you, I have thick skin when it comes to rejections. I’ve racked up my fair share since I began querying, and normally take them with a grain of salt (and chocolate—lots of chocolate), but this one really bothered me. I understand if a rejection is based upon my writing style, the likability of my characters, or a flaw in the storyline—but to be rejected solely on the basis that I choose NOT to include sex? That one didn’t go over well.

So much so that I finally decided it was time to query the one publisher I’d had my eye on for months. A publisher that cares not only for the authors, but for the kind of work they attach their name to. I’d discovered Astraea Press before I started querying in September and really liked the stance the owner, Stephanie Taylor, took against unnecessary sex.

During a 2011 interview, Six Questions for Stephanie Taylor, she made the following statement: “I also believe that in general the public is getting sick of all the sex in books today, the lack of plot and bad writing, and I think everything will come full circle.”

In this same interview she also stated: “…Astraea offers a safe haven for good books where the focus is on the STORY and not the sex”.

Bottom line, I’m proud to have my book published with Astraea Press!

I’ve gathered a few links together if you’d like to learn more about them.

Click HERE for their link on Publisher’s Marketplace…

Click HERE for where Predators and Editors readers voted them one of the top e-pubs of the year…

Click HERE for the interview with Stephanie Taylor I quoted from earlier…

Click HERE for an interview done by Women on Writing about the state of the e-publishing industry as a whole (This features five e-pub owners all giving answers)

And now that I’ve announced my news, I shall resume skipping around the room with gleeful excitement!

If you are in/have gone through the querying process, what sites do you use for research? Did the results affect your decision on whether or not to query the agent/publisher?

45 thoughts on “Book Deal News

    • Thank you so much! I snooped around your blog a bit today…what a lovely baby! And I see your book is already getting great reviews…congratulations!

      Christi

    • Dragon,

      First, I LOVE that I got to address this comment as “Dragon”!

      Second, thank you so much for your kind words. It’s been exciting and overwhelming this past week while everything got sorted out, so now I’m finally able to enjoy it. Well, at least until the edit notes arrive 😀

      Christi

    • Artemis,

      Thank you so much for all your help, ideas, and support in getting me here! If it weren’t for you Jake and Kate would be feeding their horses sticks, riding backwards, and putting their harnesses on the horses’ tails. 🙂

      You’re great!

      Christi

  1. I am so thrilled for you and have been waitting for this big announce day so I could SHOUT OUT. CONGRATS. You have earned this through hard work and the belief in yourself and what you write. That said … I am glad you founda place that respects the way you write as well 🙂

    I can’t wait to hold Along The Way Home in my hands !!

    • Florence,

      Hello to my dearest blogging friend! We tackled blogging together and I am forever grateful for your support and encouragement over these past years!

      (I’m looking at the book I still owe you for the BookTrade. Things were a bit hectic last week as everything fell into place, so I’ll try to get it out today!)

      Christi

    • Reid,

      Thanks so much! And that’s the best visual I’ve ever heard of when it comes to getting published.

      Any time you want to host here again you’re more than welcome. Looking forward to the rest of the books in your series!

      Christi

    • C,

      It was a long and winding road to get to this point, but I think those types of journeys are always the best ones :D.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind words.

      Christi

  2. It’s such a fine line, isn’t it? I was offered a couple of contracts, but one house insisted I take out the word “ass,” while another wanted a little more sex. I was very lucky to find an amazing editor at Barbour who was willing to edit my work anyway, which allowed me to self-publish. I’m so happy you found the right fit for you! It’s been a long time coming and you deserve it!

    • Tracey,

      Thank you!

      I’m so happy I stood my ground until I found someone who liked my work for what it is, and though I did take out the one swear word I had (bastard) but it didn’t bother me to do it because the scene is still strong without it.

      Ultimately I’m thrilled with Astraea and all their staff and authors have been wonderful this past week, so I can only imagine what the next few months are going to be like…amazing is my guess!

      Christi

  3. I’ve been meaning to find my way back to your blog, and what better day than today?! Congratulations – you’ve earned this sweet success! I hope you’ll keep us posted on your journey with Astraea.

    • Monica,

      I’d wondered where you’d went since I hadn’t seen you around in a while. So glad to see you’re back, and wow what a day to return!

      Thanks so much!

      Christi

  4. Congrats!!! That is such wonderful news! And I am glad that you looked over all your options and chose the best one for you and your story. Sometimes those are hard decisions but it sounds like you are definitely sure you made the right one 🙂 That is always a good feeling!

    • J,

      It’s been a whirlwind, but after doing all the research and seeing all that Astraea had going for them as a company, and how happy their authors are (both with edits and covers) it made the choice so easy.

      Even better, I didn’t have to compromise my story, and my personal beliefs, to get a contract which makes me even more thrilled!

      Thanks for your kind words!

      Christi

    • Hello to my dear hubby (trying to disguise himself as Anonymous).

      You were there from the very beginning spark of an idea, and by my side every step of the way, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support.

      And now you have to read it! (A deal is a deal)

      Love you,

      C

  5. Man, I’m so late getting over here to congratulate you! But you know, I already sent you a hug, right? So happy for you and I’m thrilled you found the perfect publisher! I can not wait to read Along the Way Home!

    • Talynn,

      Thanks for visiting, and for the hug! Did you ever listen to that song I posted on your blog? Trust me, you listen to that and you’ll have a smile on your face and be ready to face the day again. 😀

      Christi

  6. Hey Christi! So very happy for you! I saw your notification this morning but hadn’t the opportunity to sit without distraction until now. I, too, think there is way too much sex in novels when it isn’t necessary and that there is not nearly enough energy directed into plot and how, in general, a novel is written. I stand my ground on that topic. What ever happened to novels just being a great story that a reader can get lost in! I look forward to being able to purchase your novel! *virtual hugs* Karen

    • Karen,

      Hello to my Skype friend! Are you buried in snow yet?

      Thank you so much for your comment…because it just reinforces my decision to go with Astraea. I’m so happy to hear you say the same concerns I’d grappled with during the querying process.

      Cheers to a fellow writer who stands her ground!

      Christi

  7. Christi,
    CONGRATULATIONS! I’m thrilled for you. I know how hard you’ve worked. May Astraea Press and your stories soar together. They are blessed to have you in their lineup. Looking forward to seeing your first cover as I’m sure you are too. 🙂
    Hugs, smiles and confetti! 🙂
    Jill

    • Jill,

      Oh you alone know the FULL extent of how I’ve struggled, and how long I’ve been working to make this happen, and above all, all the obstacles that were in (our) place.

      Thank you so much for all your encouragement over these years, and for sharing your story so long ago which helped me make that fateful decision to get me where I am today!

      Christi

  8. Congratulations, Christi!!! I’m thrilled for you. I like the way you stuck to your guns. Now that’s a writer who knows who they are. I know you must be on cloud nine. It’s a great feeling, isn’t it? Now this will be a birthday to remember. 🙂

    • Laura,

      Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

      I’m on cloud nine and flying high with excitement over this! (Hence my abuse of exclamation points in every reply so far 🙂 )

      I love how writers support other writers, both through their disappointments and triumphs.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Christi

    • Nancy,

      Your comment thrilled me to no end, so much so that I ran to tell my hubby what you wrote! And then we both cheered my decision to go with Astraea all over again! (I admit I was drinking coffee and watching him rake the leaves from the backyard as we cheered 😀 )

      I see you mentioned the press, which is one I highly recommend. They’ve been great to deal with, and the response time is stunning…in a great way!

      Christi

    • Lindsey,

      Thank you! And if I recall you’ve got your own reason(s) to celebrate with your recent news on deals with Cresent Moon and Entangled! Congratulations to you!

      Christi

    • V,

      Thank you for visiting and for your kinds words. It’s been a fun time writing my novel (well, fun and stressful) and now I’m eager to see it on to the next step.

      Christi

  9. Wow, I just discovered your blog while hopping around and I picked a good time to find it so I can say congratulations to you!! Kudos to you for following your heart and choosing the publisher that fit with your vision of your story. I love historical novels and will look forward to learning more about your book. Congratulations again!!

    • Julie,

      Thanks so much for stopping by on your hop around the blog-o-sphere!

      If you’d like to “see” more about my book I have a book trailer you can check out. Before I chose to stay at home with my twins I was a television commercial/show writer so it was really fun to use those skills to bring my book to life with pictures.

      What type of historicals do you enjoy? Any favorites? I’m always on the look out for new authors to read.

      Christi

  10. Pingback: Which Way To Go? | Christi Corbett's Blog

    • Rachel,

      Thanks so much! It’s been an exciting time since I signed, and I know the chaos is only beginning 🙂

      Christi

    • Bren,

      Thanks so much for your kind words, and congratulations to you on your recent signing with Agent Courtney!

      Christi

Leave a Reply

