Quote Friday

Today’s quote comes from Eleanor Roosevelt…

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.

On a related note, yesterday I learned that my first round of edits will arrive early next week.

Overreact

The panic is starting to set in.

Followed by the realization my twins are about to be saying this a lot.

Editing through a kid's eyes

 

What about you?  How are you while you’re waiting for something? 

 

12 thoughts on “Quote Friday

  1. Oh, how I love that Eleanor Roosevelt quote!!!

    Hehehe on waiting for your first round of edits. I’m not sure what I’d be like in that situation.

    When I query, and I’m waiting for responses, I have several stages I usually go throug:

    For the first couple of days, I wait on the edge of my seat, because in my head if they respond super fast, hopefully it’s because they love it and they want a full/to offer to rep.

    After several days, I move on to the ‘well, they haven’t rejected me, and I’m sure their inbox is jammed full of submissions’ stage where I don’t worry about anything.

    Thirdly is the month or so and still no response grumbling phase where I’m going ‘Well at least form reject me so I’m not flinching over email checks because I’m afraid of getting a rejection from something I subbed a lifetime ago’ and at that point, I’m grateful for a rejection because at least I KNOW.

    The last and final stage, which I may, or may not actually go through, is the flinching over checking email stage. It’s not a time thing, so much as an instinctive, niggling at the back of my mind thing where I go to check email and have a moment of ‘You know that agent you LOVE, whom you queried, like, forever ago? Maybe they rejected you!’ And sometimes, this comes true. Sometimes it doesn’t. And sometimes, I’m not even in this stage and I’m not thinking about queries at all and I check email and it’s all like SMACK! REJECTION YOU FORGOT YOU WERE WAITING FOR! Then I’m all like ‘Where’s my chocolate, I hate ambush rejections.’

    • Artemis,

      Perfect description of the waiting period!

      Ambush rejections SUCK. I’ve gotten about five rejections since I signed with Astraea and now I get to laugh at them…which feels GREAT.

      I think the inner voice is the worst when it comes to waiting. I’d riled myself up into a fury while waiting for word, and convinced myself of all kinds of irrational situations. Makes my hubby crazy!

      Christi

    • Tyrean,

      Thanks so much for your kind words! I’m glad you enjoyed those cartoons (I found them on Pinterest and there’s a bunch more fun writing ones if you’re interested. Just look under my name and find the “Writing Fun” board)

      Christi

  2. Another great Quotation Friday, Christi. Look at the angst of edits this way. A year ago you would have given an eye tooth to have the tension you have today 🙂 And the waiting, the endless not-knowing is far worse than the actual doing.

    Have fun with your edits !!

    • Florence,

      I am beyond excited and thrilled to be in the position of actually waiting for edits. It’s more than I ever thought possible 🙂

      And I’ve got lots of coffee ready to go 😀

      Christi

  3. When I got my first round of edits for my first novel, I tweeted “I have never been so excited in my life to have somebody tell me everything I’ve done wrong,” and it was true! It was definitely work, but I had so much FUN implementing the requested changes and seeing my manuscript be transformed into something even better. Best to you!

  4. Heather,

    That makes me feel so much better! I’m still waiting for the edits to arrive so I’ve started creating the “worst case scenario” in my head as to the reason. Yep, I’m a bit of an overthinker 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by, and I’m looking forward to your guest post next month!

    Christi

Leave a Reply

