April Fools Tricks at the Corbett Household

I love April Fools Day and always have. This is due to my mom’s plethora of tricks she played on my brother and I each year; the two I recall best are dumping piles of uncooked rice between the mattress and the bottom sheet, and removing my dresser drawer and putting it back in upside down so all the clothes fall to the floor the next time it’s opened.

So now I’m following in her footsteps, and showing the Corbett twins what practical jokes are all about.

First, I did the nail polish trick and accused them both of the spill.Β It was all in good fun and they loved it!

So, then I proceeded on to the brownie trick.

Thankfully, I had some real brownies on hand so they weren’t too disappointed :D.

I also made them some special juice to go along with dinner (hint, it’s Jello! Thanks to Vanessa for the idea!)

Β 

And then I finished off the day with the classic trick, short-sheeting the bed.

How about you? Did you play any tricks? Get fooled by anyone?

12 thoughts on “April Fools Tricks at the Corbett Household

  1. Oh my goodness, these are great! I wish I had seen these earlier; I would have copied you exactly! We didn’t really celebrate because I’m not that creative. But now I will be ready for next year!

    • Wendy,

      Definitely do the rice trick! It’s so unexpected because the day is nearly over, and feels SO WEIRD and you just can’t figure out what it could be.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Christi

  2. Sounds like great fun at the Corbett house, Christi πŸ™‚ Nope, no April Fool for me this year. Didn’t get zinged and remained peaceful and quiet in my little domain. I think I’ll pass this along to my son … he loves playing jokes on the kids !!

    • Florence,

      Check out my comment to Wendy, because I highly recommend the rice one. It’s easy to do and cheap. Only thing you need is access to the bed, and sneakiness πŸ™‚

      Christi

    • Talynn,

      I just made the weirdest snort/laugh when I read your comment! Love it!

      *tucks away idea for next year’s tricks*

      Thanks for visiting. How are things with you?

      Christi

      • Well, I’m trucking along. Kinda slow right now, but moving forward none the less. I think I’m moving. I better check the view and make sure…yep. It’s moving, but just barely!

        Taking a short trip this weekend and I’m looking forward tot he break! Plus, I get to see my daughter who’s 21 weeks pregnant with my first grandDAUGHTER I’m so happy about!!

        • Talynn,

          A granddaughter?! So happy for you!

          *swoons at thoughts of little pink jammies, bibs, bows and ribbons*

          Congratulations to you and your growing family!

          Christi

    • Lindsey,

      Oh how I LOVE to do this kind of stuff with them. I’m the type of mom who last Thanksgiving we were faced with piles of food prep, and a street full of puddles perfect for stomping. So of course we went stomping and did the food prep later.

      Hopefully they’ll remember me as fun, as well as making them do the boring stuff (homework, cleaning, etc…)

      Thanks so much for visiting,

      Christi

  3. YOU are a fun mom! πŸ™‚ Last year, one of my sons cleaned out a mayo jar, filled it with vanilla pudding, and then took it to school and ate out of it. Blech. He got great reactions from people.

    • Margo,

      I can hardly wait until next year so I can try that with them. Or maybe I’ll do it earlier because the reactions would be so much fun!

      Thanks for visiting.

      *tap, tap, tap, tap* (You know what I mean πŸ˜€ )

      Christi

Leave a Reply

