Creatively Waiting

First, there are only a few entries for the signed copy of Kaye Dacus’ book, Follow the Heart. Leave a comment on THIS POST to be entered in the giveaway!

Okay, now on to today’s post…

I’m doing a lot of waiting this week.

I’ve got everything in to my publisher (I still can’t believe I get the privilege of using that word!) which means my final galleys are approved and sent, back cover copy has been fretted over until the very last second and then sent, dedication is complete, acknowledgments too, and my marketing plan is hanging on the wall waiting for me to get that one final piece of information I need before I tear into it.

I’m waiting for my release date, which is sometime next month. And, even more importantly, I’m waiting to see my cover.

So, while I’m waiting, I’ve been catching up on some things I’d let slide during the “wow I signed a contract and there’s so much to do now” rush.

Things like laundry, vacuuming, dusting, basic house and car maintenance. In other words, seriously boring stuff, all of which I am not a fan of.

I’m also waiting to hear back from a man who has agreed to answer some VERY specific questions about land ownership in 1843 Oregon Territory, so I can’t make much progress on my current WIP until I get the answers, lest I have to go back and make changes.

Last night I decided to take on a project that will hopefully take at least a month to complete. A crocheted rag rug made from old bedsheets.

Here’s a picture so you can see what I’m attempting. I’ll post my own later (good or bad) but for now this will give you an idea of what I’m filling my time with. So far I’ve had the twins rip a queen sized bed sheet into long strips, which then I made into three large “yarn” balls. (After much muttering about how in the world was I supposed to connect each strip together to make it one large string.)

I found this picture and a really great tutorial on the site totallygreencrafts.com

Already I’ve got issues going with mine. My strips are flannel and some are wide and some are thin…which I think is a given when you have 8-year-old twins helping rip the sheets, and they turn it into a game called “motorboat” because of the cool noise the ripping makes, and try to see who can rip strips faster.

But, nonetheless, after watching mindless television for two hours last night I ended up with three cantelope-sized balls of “yarn”.

Then I got out my “How To Crochet for Beginners” book I found at a yard sale. After a half hour of trying to figure out how to start a circle, I gave up and headed to YouTube, where I found several tutorials about how to make a rag rug.

I plan on creating this over the summer, and hopefully by September I’ll have something worthy to show pictures of here on the blog 🙂

How about you? What creative things do you do when you’re not writing?

6 thoughts on “Creatively Waiting

  1. I would love to be entered in the giveaway for the signed copy of Follow the Heart. To answer the question, I’m not much of a writer I’m more of a reader. I have tried to write but never seem to finish. I do enjoy making scrapbooks.

  2. Katie,

    You have the same name as my heroine in Along the Way Home…great name! 😀

    I’ll leave your comment here, and also do a copy/paste of it over to the entry space for the contest. Best of luck on winning!

    Christi

  3. Things are moving along quickly for you.Christi! I can hardly wait to see the cover of your book. 🙂

    Sometimes it feels as though the only creative thing I do IS write, so that`s a tough question. I have been doing a lot of gardening lately, not sure if that counts. I do like to knit when I can squeeze in time.

    • Laura,

      Speaking of covers, I love yours!

      I’ve torn up the top sheet that matched the bottom sheet I already used. Now my rug is over two feet wide and I have enough “yarn” to make it about six inches bigger.

      I think by the end of summer all our old sheets will be rugs 🙂

      Thanks for visiting,

      Christi

  4. Emily finally got to wear the sweater I finished two years ago, months before we even met her. Can you tell I’ve been waiting waiting waiting to claim “It fits! Time to wear it!”? OK, I’m pushing that window, but hey, it’s got grow room.

  5. simultaneously applying heat & ice to my right shoulder, elbow & hand. : ( I’ve got tendonitis and I think it was brewing under the surface & then I started golfing ~~ 2 months ago and it flared like a wildfire. I’m off knitting for a few days & off golfing for weeks. I’m having a little pity party…until beer o’clock when I’ll have some for medicinal pruposes only.

Leave a Reply

