Writing Quote Friday and Updates on my Cover and Rug Making

Today’s writing quote comes from Dorothy Parker…

“I hate writing. I love having written.”

And I have a few updates. The rag rug I am working on while waiting for my cover and release date is now two feet across. Yeah, I thought it would take a whole lot more time, but it’s seems when you work on it while watching hours of  mindless television shows are totally dedicated to your craft project it goes quick. Using the biggest hook available and making your strips extra wide and using the biggest stitch you know apparently helps too.

And help it did, because yesterday I got my cover finalized! I can’t show you yet (Astraea Press likes authors to wait until the actual release day to reveal their cover) but I can say it has a very “Western” feel to it.

So now my kiddos talked me into ripping up the matching top sheet and making the rug even bigger. I’ll keep you posted on my progress 😀

What are you doing to fuel your creativity this weekend?

 

11 thoughts on “Writing Quote Friday and Updates on my Cover and Rug Making

  1. I’m so excited for you! I can *not* wait to see your book jacket and cover! How very exciting!!

    And when do we get pictures of your rag rug????

    Happy weekend, my sweet friend!

    • Talynn,

      I suppose I could give hints 🙂 about the cover. There’s a beautiful sunset that makes me think of all the sunsets Kate and Jake must have seen as they traveled the trail.

      I’ve been taking progress pictures with every step, and plan on posting them soon (which means as soon as I get them out of the camera and onto my computer)

      It’s amazing how fast it’s gone. I expected it to take all summer. Now I’m thinking by the end of summer I’ll have no old sheets and a bunch of rugs 🙂

      Thanks so much for visiting!

      Christi

    • Wendy,

      Hey there! I’m so glad you liked the quote. Do you agree with it? I didn’t get it the first few times I read it, and then I realized what it meant and I knew it had to be today’s quote.

      Christi

  2. Christi, I get a tingle each time you give us another up-date. I can’t wait for the final reveal !!!

    Why don’t you show us a picture of the rag rug. I love them. Did one a long, long time ago.

    Yes, yes … the process is a pain but Oh what a joy to see it done 🙂

  3. Florence,

    I am the worst secret keeper in the world, so this one is really hard to keep under wraps. I do have it as my computer’s desktop right now so I can see it whenever I want.

    Did you see my hint to Talynn about there being a sunset? The colors are amazing and make me want to watch the sunset tonight.

    Thanks for visiting. I’m thinking perhaps your blog will be the one I finally release the “official” cover on since you’re my bestest blogging friend? You up for that?

    Christi

  4. Amen to that quote. Writing a book is like birthing twins. Oh, wait – you’re done both, haven’t you?

    So excited for you. Countdown! Can’t wait to get my grubby mitts on that awesome book of yours…

    • Moriah,

      It’s getting closer to reality! I have a finalized cover and now I’m about to email Astraea and ask about my release date.

      I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it! I’m loving your latest book and wish I could leave reviews everywhere 😀

      Christi

Leave a Reply

