Quote Friday and What’s an Announcer?

Today’s quote comes from Milton Berle…

If opportunity doesn’t knock, build a door.

*****************************************************

And here’s me building a door :D.

As you probably know I’ve got a book, titled Along the Way Home, coming out on June 11th from Astraea Press.  I also have a small (teeny tiny small) marketing budget, which is mainly going toward bookmarks and business cards with VistaPrint (500 business cards are only $10 right now) and a few contests designed to get my name out in front of readers.

So, because word of mouth is the king of all marketing, I came up with the idea of having “Along the Way Home Announcers”; people who agree to mention my book ONCE on social media (any kind) and ONCE to someone face to face.

Extra incentive: I’ve got Oregon Trail themed prizes that I’ll give away to random “Announcers” so you might win something fun!

If you’re interested in becoming an “Along the Way Home Announcer” leave a comment here or send me a direct email and I’ll let you know more information.

How about you? What have you seen small press/indie authors do to effectively promote their book(s)? What have you seen that you thought was too pushy? 

4 thoughts on “Quote Friday and What’s an Announcer?

  1. Love the quote.

    I have already declared myself an “announcer” for Along the Way HOme … and yes …

    One of the best examples of good promotion with a small press book was Patti from my on-line chapter and her debut novel Moon Over Alcatraz, Patricia Yager Delagrange.

    And what I think is way too pushy with several writers I’ve met … is they don’t engage in thoughtful social networking until a couple of months before they launch. They only contact you when they are promoting themselves … worse … they suddenly blog or open pages that are so obviously self-promoting … and then they want to be your friend when six months before they couldn’t remember your name.

    • Linda,

      Thank you for the offer! So generous and kind!

      I’ve replied to your email with some details and plan on getting you what you need before your deadline.

      Also, I had a great time at your launch party on Facebook. Thanks for the invite 🙂

      Christi

  2. Florence,

    Thanks so much for agreeing to be an Announcer. I’ve got you on the list, and in the spirit of not bothering the group, I’ll probably only post once a week. I can’t stand when I join a group and then my email is immediately overrun with emails.

    Those are GREAT points about how authors can turn off readers/other writers.

    Now I’m off to see what Patti has done to promote herself so well.

    Thanks for visiting,

    Christi

Leave a Reply

