Don’t Lick the Minivan

I had the pleasure of being one of Leanne Shirtliffe’s early readers for her book, Don’t Lick the Minivan: And Other Things I Never Thought I’d Say to My Kids.

I LOVED IT!

Leanne gives a refreshingly honest take on pregnancy, delivery, flu shots, piano lessons, and all things arts and crafts (hint, she hates crafts and has banned glitter from the home).

And the trips! Road trips and plane trips galore, with hilarity ensuing on each leg of their journeys. These aren’t your run of the mill two hour drive to the beach or a quick three hour plane ride kind of trips, they are drives across Canada and flights across oceans. With twins!

In addition, it’s filled with “Parenting Tips”. Here’s my favorites:

Parenting Tip: When you ask your children a question, the reply “nothing” means they’re guilty. Either investigate or hide.

Parenting Tip: A regular routine of brushing and flossing is essential the three days before your children’s dentist appointments if you want to appear to be a good parent.

In summary, this book is heartwarming and hilarious, and smothered with sarcasm. I highly recommend!

Amazon Link

Barnes and Noble Link

 

7 thoughts on “Don’t Lick the Minivan

  1. Wendy and Florence,

    I know you both would love this book. So funny and spot on with some of the stuff a parent thinks/says.

    Plus, it’s got something at the end of each chapter called “The Sappy Files” which is when she shows letters she wrote to each of her twins on their birthday. Several of them made me cry they are so beautiful.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Christi

    • Monica,

      The title alone is hilarious, and then when you read the chapter titles you’ll know you’re in for a good read. It’s a realistic look at parenting, plus her twins are the same age as mine so I had extra fun reading her adventures since I had some at the same time.

      Christi

  2. I’ve read about this book from a post a couple of days ago and it got me excited. I think it would be a very good read and I know that I’ll be able to learn a lot from it. I can’t wait to read about some tips about parenting. 🙂

    • Janet,

      They are super fun tips, and at the end of each chapter she has a “Sappy files” which are so beautifully written they made me tear up a few times.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Christi

Leave a Reply

