One Week To Go!

Along the Way Home is only one week away from publication!

I’ve got four contests planned, guest posts galore, and best of all I can finally reveal my cover!

In the meantime, if you’d like to learn a bit about my inspirations behind certain scenes, storylines, and characters you can check out my Along the Way Home Pinterest page.

And, there’s a really fun post planned for me over at Astraea Press’ blog called “Three Truths and a Lie”. It’s all about me and you have to guess which of the four things I’m lying about. Readers of this blog will have an advantage on at least two of the questions since I talk about those things all the time, but the other two will be hard to figure out. I’m excited to see who guesses right, and wrong šŸ™‚

Here’s an interesting post about a popular writing program that has me thinking perhaps I might branch out on my writing method.

6 Reasons Why Scrivener is the Best Writing Tool EVER

What about you? Are you a hard core paper and pen only type of writer, or do the latest and greatest in writing programs really get you excited?Ā 

14 thoughts on “One Week To Go!

    • Florence,

      So many people have mentioned using Scrivener and had really great experiences using it, I think I’m going to try it out after I wrap up my next book (already written so inputting everything wouldn’t work).

      I love the thought of making each card color coded to the POV of the character. I write in multiple POV and it is a pain to keep it straight on my outlining board.

      How’s your writing going? Did you lose anything in the big computer crash of Christmas or did you recover it all? Also, how’s your Etsy shop doing?

      Christi

  1. Congrats, you! šŸ˜€ So exciting! I’m very jealous! šŸ˜‰

    I’m a back-and-forth-er. I love old school writing with a pen and paper, but I’m also a huge fan of Scrivener. I bought it last year when they finally came out with the Windows Version and I absolutely LOVE it.

    • Tracey,

      I love notebooks and paper and pens and pencils and all things that are writing supplies. I have a bin under the bed crammed full of papers and another trunk (like an old school traveling trunk they used in the early 1900’s) full of notebooks that I filled when plotting out Along the Way Home.

      I’m eager to try something that doesn’t take up as much space, but I fret if I can’t print out stuff and take it with me. Do you have that option with Scrivener?

      Christi

      • Oh yes, for sure! It has a lot of great options to export in different formats, and you can choose which bits you want to export if you, for instance, decide to cut some scenes but want to leave them in the digital copy for reference. I wrote my first complete manuscript in Scrivener, but then decided to print it out for editing (I love scribbling over it in red pen…is a guilty pleasure…lol) and I couldn’t have been happier with the result!

        When you first start checking Scrivener out it can be a little confusing and intimidating, but if you spend a little time to customize it and learn some of the tricks it really is an awesome tool!

        P.S. I’m a pen fanatic, and I have half a bookshelf full of notebooks and journals. It’s a huge waste of space but there’s just something about office supplies, you know? lol

  2. I’m beyond excited for you, Christi! I can’t wait to see the book jacket of ALONG THE WAY HOME and I can’t wait to read your book!! Congratulations! (((hugs)))

    *showers confetti mixed with glitter*

    • Talynn,

      I’m super excited to host your blog and chat with your readers! You’ve done FANTASTIC things getting your blog going and I can hardly wait to host!

      *twirls around room tossing handfuls of glitter*

      I love how we use virtual glitter when we chat!

      Christi

  3. I may be picking your brain about Pintrest. I’ve got an idea – a theme – in mind to start, but nothing worked out yet.

    Many congrats on the book!

    Smiles,

    Linda Joyce

    • Linda,

      Remember the day you learned about the internet, and then learned right after that how much time you could waste on said internet?

      Pinterest is much, much, worse. And so much more fun!

      Feel free to pick my brain about anything, you can email me direct or if you prefer we can do a Skype chat and I can walk you through everything.

      It’s such a fun site to play with, and create boards for your books. I love it! (But never do it close to a deadline because it is a major time suck šŸ™‚ )

      Christi

Leave a Reply

