The Shark

If you’re a writer, then chances are good that you know the name Janet Reid. If not, you should because she’s a wealth of information for newbie writers.

She runs an informative blog, where she details everything writers need to know about the business of publishing.

She helps writers perfect their queries via QueryShark

As if that wasn’t enough, if you’re fortunate enough to get your query into the Chum Bucket*, you’ll get a personal response as to what you’re doing wrong, or right.

I’m mentioning all this because I was overjoyed to find out that Janet Reid featured me, and my path to publication story, on her blog last week! CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK

I’d sent her a quick thank you for her feedback on my query (I was one of the early participants in the Chum Bucket experiment) and she was very gracious and kind in our subsequent email exchanges.

What about you? Who has helped you out with your writing journey? 

*note that I’m uncertain if the Chum Bucket is still happening, so do your due diligence if you want to participate. Pay attention to the rules and guidelines!*

6 thoughts on “The Shark

  1. Christi, that is a part of your story I did not know. How absolutely marvelous. Janet has a great rep for being honest with all those who she selects for her programs. AND AGAIN … I am so proud to know you when … to know more about your story and to say GREAT JOB 🙂

    • Florence,

      The Chum Bucket (I’m not sure if she’s still doing it, but it went on for at least a few months) was very helpful to me, because it came at a time when I was teetering upon “Is this query good enough to start sending, or should I revise it…AGAIN.”

      So when she didn’t have anything to say about it, aside from not repping my genre, I knew if she thought is was okay, then I was good to go. I started sending them out soon after.

      I really just sent her a thank you note (via email) to let her know how much all her resources had helped me get started, and then it began a series of email exchanges, which to my complete surprise led me to being featured on her blog.

      How about you? How’s your writing and other things going?

      Christi

  2. Reblogged this on Linda Joyce Contemplates and commented:
    “Different Strokes for Different Folks” is what my Grandmother used to tell me, and in this age of overwhelming information, sorting through it to find a nugget of gold remains challenging.

    Author Christi Corbett’s blog offers up a resource for Query help.

    Could this be the nugget of gold that makes your day?

    Happy Reading,

    Smiles,

    Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

