My Writing Process Blog Hop

I’ve been asked by Margo Kelly and Kristin Wallace to participate in the My Writing Process blog hop.

Margo Kelly is one of my critique partners and her first book, titled Who RU Really, will debut later this year. You’ll be hearing a LOT about this book in the coming months because it’s amazing! (Yep, I was her critique partner for this book 🙂 )

Kristin Wallace is a fellow Astraea Press author who writes inspirational romance and women’s fiction filled with love, laughter and a leap of faith. Her debut novel MARRY ME released in October 2013 from Astraea Press. Look for the next two books in the Covington Falls Chronicles April 22 and July 1.

Thank you, Margo and Kristin! Now, I’ll answer a few questions about my writing process.

1) What am I working on?

Currently I’m working on the sequel to my debut novel, Along the Way Home.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

While many romance novels feature pages and pages of highly descriptive sex, my publisher, Astraea Press, specializes in “sweet” novels, which means there is no swearing and no “pink parts” in any of their books.

During a 2011 interview, Six Questions for Stephanie Taylor, the owner of Astraea Press made the following statement: “I also believe that in general the public is getting sick of all the sex in books today, the lack of plot and bad writing, and I think everything will come full circle.”

In this same interview she also stated: “…Astraea offers a safe haven for good books where the focus is on the STORY and not the sex”.

Bottom line, I’m proud to have my book published with Astraea Press!

(Click HERE to read the interview I quoted from)

3) Why do I write what I do?

The Oregon Trail is an important part of America’s history, and this fictionalized tale of travelers who were willing to abandon all they’d ever known for the promise of a better life gives the reader a historically accurate glimpse into our country’s past.

As for the lack of sex in my book and ones to come, I want my eight year old twins to eventually read my book(s), and when they do I want their focus to be on the storyline and the characters, rather than sexual interactions.

4) How does my writing process work?

Plot out the story using my storyboard method depicted in this picture.

Board and Castle

Write the first draft.

Revise a minimum of ten times.

Send to one critique partner. (Margo Kelly)

Revise according to the suggestions I agree with.

Send to my other critique partner. (Artemis Grey)

Revise according to the suggestions I agree with.

Send to three Beta Readers.

Revise according to the suggestions I agree with.

Send to my publisher.

Also, I do this each and every day during the above process…

4WritingStages_005-400w

Thanks Margo Kelly and Kristin Wallace for the fun questions!

What about you? What’s your writing process?

5 thoughts on “My Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. I love your explanation of why there’s no sex. 😉 Which makes me just think, why does there have to be sex scenes in there anyhow? I totally prefer books that have the sex happen “off stage” or that have the scene fade to black. New chapter. But … I’m not a big reader of romance books for that very reason. Give me blood, guts, and gore. ha. kinda kidding.

    • Margo,

      I love alluding to what’s going to happen, rather than describing every last intimate detail. Sometimes I think the mystery is better than the reality of what happens in the bedroom 😀

      Thanks for visiting and I’m getting SO EXCITED for your book’s release! *chair dances from happiness for you*

      Christi

  2. Christi, part of me agrees with Margo since I also love mysteries with a passion. Your process is similar to my own with a change on the last step … for now I send to agents and not my publisher since I don’t have one yet 🙂 I have two main BETAs and then a few who read when the draft is getting there. Other than a couple of times, I don’t send first drafts to anyone 🙂

    About whether we need of want sex? I am not fond of gratuitous sex in movies or books, don’t often read “hot” romance and mostly my scenes fade to black. There have been times when I use it but in a very poetic and loving manner … nothing explicit. I think the standard laundry of how to describe the deed can be very boring and hate when words like (blank and blank) are used. I consider most of the descriptions of the deed to be a poverty of language. It is not sex that I wish to communicate, but loving and connecting and reaching out to someone 🙂

Leave a Reply

