Deborah Kreiser’s Path to Publication

Today I’m hosting fellow Astraea Press author, Deborah Kreiser, who has agreed to share her Path to Publication story.

Without further ado, here’s Deborah…

******************************

Author Deborah KreiserWhen I first started writing my book, I did it just for me, and didn’t really even think too much about publishing it. But then I finished it, and my beta readers were encouraging about its prospects. I started thinking, “Why not?” I attended my first writing conference in May 2012, though, and realized just how daunting and difficult getting an agent and getting published could be.

Still, I thought I’d try. I felt good about my book, and figured I had a shot. (Sometimes ignorance is bliss!)

I began querying agents in January 2013, and my very first query letter resulted in a full request. That was encouraging! I started spending more time on Twitter and following blogs, and learned of cool contests that I entered—and some of them I won. Even more encouraging!

But none of these ended up panning out, and after eight or so months of querying I thought I needed to reevaluate my options. I’d been reading about authors who were being published by small presses, and who were delighted by the experience. I also read about small presses who went under as quickly as they started. Not good.

So I did my research, and one of the publishers that came on my radar was Astraea Press, which has a great reputation for quality books and for treating their authors and staff well. I pitched to Stephanie Taylor of AP as part of the Savvy Authors Summer Symposium (from the beach where I vacationed last August!), and got a full request. I was so happy when the full turned into an offer in late September, and accepted with glee. The staff and fellow authors at Astraea have been nothing but supportive and super-responsive, and I’m very glad I made the decision to go with a small press.

And now I’m the proud mama of a bouncing baby book called THREE WISHES, a Young Adult paranormal that came out April 15 from Astraea Press.

ThreeWishes500X750AMAZON

BARNES AND NOBLE

About Deborah

If Deborah Kreiser had three wishes, they would include: a lifetime supply of calorie-free chocolate, a self-cleaning house; and the ability to expand time as needed. When not dreaming of her next plot, she works as a school librarian in Massachusetts, where she lives with her husband and two young daughters. Follow her on Twitter: @DeborahKreiser, on her blog, and on Facebook!

5 thoughts on “Deborah Kreiser’s Path to Publication

  1. Deborah, what a delightful story. I love coming to Christi’s blog to meet her fellow authors at Astraea. This process can be daunting and those who are strong enough to stay the course, publish. Congrats 🙂

  2. Tracey and Florence,

    I’m so glad you are enjoying this “Path to Publication” series. It started out small but now I’ve got authors usually booked a month in advance, so I’m thrilled to be able to keep sharing how hard work and determination and a bit of luck is behind the book cover 🙂

    Christi

Leave a Reply

