Writing Fun Friday (Earthquake and Fire Drill Edition)

This is a bit late due to today getting away from me. I gave a “author” type talk to a 4th grade classroom and right in the middle of my speech, right when it was getting good, the earthquake drill went off, and then it was quickly followed by the fire alarm and an evacuation drill.

Good thing I roll with change well πŸ™‚

Since today was a day of talking about writing, I figure I’d feature a favorite cartoon that perfectly illustrates the need for the Oxford Comma.

Do you use the Oxford Comma? If no, why?

Oxford Comma Illustration

And, in case any of the 4th graders who listened to me talk today happen by my blog…this picture’s for you! See, even Woody reads my book πŸ™‚

Entry #33

4 thoughts on “Writing Fun Friday (Earthquake and Fire Drill Edition)

  1. Christi, I use it because it also helps set up the last item in a string of items. There has been a debate that says the Oxford comma is no longer needed. I can’t see how. Your illustration says that very well πŸ™‚

    I bet you had a blast with the kids. It is something that they will remember. And any budding authors will never forget it πŸ™‚

    • Florence,

      It was great fun because they all listened and many asked questions, which was really nice. Plus, I geared the talk to the audience and brought props and had “helpers” come up and participate in the talk so it wasn’t ever just me standing and yapping πŸ™‚

      I’m hoping at least one kid grows up to focus on writing.

      Christi

  2. Just your typical, uneventful, “author talk” – complete with fire alarm and earthquake drill. Oh, man. So…did I use the Oxford comma correctly??

    • When I was crouched in a ball under a large table I had to laugh about it, then when the fire alarm went off I laughed again. I’m thinking not many author chats include that much fun πŸ™‚

      Christi

Leave a Reply

