Mary Cope’s Path to Publication Story

Today I’m thrilled to feature fellow Astraea Press author Mary Cope, who has generously agreed to share her “Path to Publication” story.

Without further ado, here’s Mary…

******************

fB168Ujj5A3ihdvfnRJSUlDJ24TREL4IxzDoepGt6cUFirst I’d like to thank Christi Corbett for having me guest host her blog today. It is a privilege.

Before I begin my pathway to publication, I want to backtrack a little bit and give encouragement to those who continually doubt themselves. Doubt can be a destructive thing, paralyzing even, in fact…I doubted myself so much I almost never submitted my story.

The reason for my doubt came from the fact that I wasn’t a writer. And to be honest, I kept my writing a secret..from my family, friends, everybody. I didn’t want to share this desire I had. I mean who was I? A middle-aged housewife writing a New Adult Romance story? Really? But, it was fun for me, so I decided to continue.

Then something clicked. When I reached chapter 7 of my story it was at that point I knew I was going to finish. Having no idea what I was doing, I joined a local writers group. Nervous and intimidated, I sat at a table with strangers and read them my first chapter. My formatting was off, my tenses were all over the place and basically chapter 1 was a mess. But, thanks to the encouragement I felt from this group of writers I came back the following week and continued to do so.

When my story was finished, the doubt came back. I shelved my story for five months because I didn’t think it was good enough, but then I decided, “What the heck? I’ve got nothing to lose.” So, I enlisted the help of a great friend of mine and we tackled the dreaded “query letter.”

“The query letter, the query letter, it has to be perfect!” That’s all I heard from everyone, so writing the query letter freaked me out. And, if you’re in the midst of writing one, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

Anyway, I pushed the doubt aside and sent off my first query letter.

“Hmmm, that wasn’t so bad.” I thought, so, I sent another.
Eventually, I sent my query letter to every publisher I could think of. And, yes, I received rejections, but I also received manuscript requests, and that feeling fueled me and gave me the confidence I needed.

Manuscript rejections came, and doubt reared its ugly head again, but a few offers came in also. Β I signed my first contract with Astraea Press, for my book, Beautiful One on January 1st 2014. So, I’m going to shove doubt out the door, and with a humble heart call myself a writer.

Trust me when I say, if I can do this, you can too. πŸ™‚

Thank you, Christi, I hope I was able to encourage at least one of your followers to continue on their writing journey.
BeautifulOne_1Book Blurb:

Elizabeth Ryan is a beautiful, shy, naΓ―ve high school senior. Having never dated, she meets the boy of her dreams, Aidan Mitchell. Despite his history of womanizing, Liz is drawn to him.

Soon Liz becomes the envy of all the girls on campus, when they become a couple and her dream boyfriend sweeps her off her feet and into the dating world that is all too new and strange for her. When other guys start to take notice of Liz, Aidan is troubled with fits of jealousy.

Elizabeth then meets the ruggedly handsome, Spencer Hayes and they quickly bond over their passion for music. Liz begins to struggle with the feelings that spark between them.

In the end Elizabeth finds herself torn between helping Aidan overcome his jealousy and anger and giving into what her heart truly wants.

Buy Links for Beautiful One:

Amazon Β  Β  Barnes and Noble

Contact Mary:

www.marycopeauthor.com

 

29 thoughts on “Mary Cope’s Path to Publication Story

  1. congrats, Mary! I enjoyed reading about your path to publication. This business can be tough, but you’ve given aspiring writers some great advice. Never give up! πŸ™‚

  2. Mary,
    Congratulations on your determination to challenge yourself and fulfill a dream. In your book, did you pull characters from people in your own life? Which writing skill do you think was most useful for you?? Good luck on continued successes and happy writing!

    • Tracy,

      Thanks for checking out Mary’s story! She’ll probably pop in later today or tomorrow to answer your questions…they’re great ones by the way!

      Christi

    • Thank you Tracy,
      The writing skill I used most was to write from my heart. I’m a bit of a sap, so that part was easy. πŸ™‚
      And, as far as pulling the characters from my own life? I’d say, a little…but there is a bit of me in every character. πŸ˜‰

    • Mike,

      Thanks for stopping by and supporting Mary today. If you’re interested you can read many other author’s “Path to Publication” stories by typing it into the search box at the top right side of my blog. They’re very helpful!

      Christi

  3. Thank you for sharing with us. The rejections make you question your dream of publication but perseverance is the only way to succeed. I considered giving up several times but several writer friends asked me if I could imagine giving up writing and I couldn’t. I’m glad I didn’t. My first book comes out in July.

    Huge congrats on your release. Looking forward to reading it.

  4. Again, thanks for doing this series, Christi. And Mary, I loved your path to publication. I used to suffer from doubt. Now I suffer from submission headaches πŸ™‚ Congratulations on your success and go forward and be the writer you were obviously meant to be !!!

  5. Congratulations Mary,
    I bought your book Tuesday and couldn’t put it down! I fell in love with the characters and can not wait for the sequel! I am a fan.

Leave a Reply

