I’m a RONE Award Winner!!

I’m honored to announce that my debut novel, Along the Way Home, is a 2014 RONE Award winner, American Historical category.

(Click here for a list of all the winners)

Budget issues meant I couldn’t attend the ceremony in Las Vegas, but fellow Astraea Press author, Frank Borne, who was there for his nominated book, Fame and Misfortune, was kind enough to accept in my absence and give my speech (which I wrote the morning of the awards ceremony and then went out to create sidewalk chalk art in the driveway with my 9yo daughter)

Here’s my speech 🙂

************

First, I’d like to thank everyone at InD’Tale Magazine for all the time and effort in putting together this event, and for all you’ve done to bring recognition to independent and small press authors. 

I would like to dedicate this award to Stephanie Taylor, the owner of Astraea Press. She took a risk and said “Yes!” to me, and my first novel, Along the Way Home, when over sixty people had already rejected it. She believed in me when no one else did, and for that I am forever grateful. 

Thank you, Stephanie!

**************

Though I couldn’t attend, I was able to get updates via my laptop from insiders who attended, so I was able to follow along “live” during the awards, and celebrate with my family when I got the news.

Three other Astraea Press authors also had reason to celebrate that evening…

Calico Daniels, RONE Award winner, Novella category, for her novel, Fried Pickles and the Fuzz.

Wendy Knight, RONE Award winner, Young Adult Paranormal category, for her novel, Feudlings.

Jill Urbach won an Honorable Mention, Contemporary: Artists and Writer category, for her book, Two-Room Flat.

Thank you everyone who has supported and encouraged me and my writing over these past years!!!

 

12 thoughts on “I’m a RONE Award Winner!!

    • THANK YOU so much for all you did to help make it correct with all the details of horses and sickness and everything else! You rock!

      Christi

    • Florence,

      Thank you! You’re so sweet, and I’m REALLY enjoying your short stories on your blog. I still grab a cup of coffee and sit back and enjoy each one 😀

      Christi

Leave a Reply

