Violet Ingram’s Path to Publication Story

Today’s Path to Publication Post is by Violet Ingram.

Without further ado, here’s Violet…

**************

I think the beginning of my Path to Publication really started when I was a kid. My mom and I would spend Saturday mornings in the library. We would walk in the front door and she would head off towards adult fiction while I headed off to the kid’s section.

Mysteries were my first love. I fell for the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and Encyclopedia Brown. I always imagined myself off solving the mysteries with them. I would come up with new cases and act them out.

Fast forward a lot of years and a ton of books read later to 2001. I had just given birth to my fourth child and I decided that the stories in my head needed to be put down on paper. My mom believed in me when I dared say it out loud. She brought me pages and pages of websites for research.

It took years for me to finish that first book – a book that shall remain tucked away. After finishing the next book my husband encouraged me to join a critique group at one of our local bookstores. It was the best decision I could have made. Next up, I started reading and researching agents, publishers, and submission processes. I also entered lots of contests and got lots of helpful input. The most important thing I did was keep writing.

Fast forward again, this time to 2014. I got my first publishing contract. I admit I squealed and jumped around the living room.

Death by High Heels will be available July 28, 2014 from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

DeathbyHighHeels_Draft.

Book Blurb:

Spending time with a dead guy, being interrogated by the cops and getting stitched up by a cute ER doc aren’t exactly the evening plans private investigator Kimberly Murphy envisioned. Especially the getting caught standing over a dead body, again, part. Only this time it wasn’t her fault. Just once she’d like it if homicide detective Grant Tompkins didn’t assume she was guilty.

To clear her slightly tarnished name, Kim goes after the clever killer while avoiding a certain hot homicide detective determined to put her in handcuffs – and not the pink, fuzzy kind – not that she’d mind. Too bad Kim’s efforts lead to dead ends and even more dead bodies. Kim will need all her skills and a bit of luck to outwit a killer who’d like to put an end to Kim’s meddling permanently.

About Violet:

Violet Ingram is a wife, mother, and author. She and her husband have been married for over 24 years and they have 5 children.

Violet’s love of books was the direct result of having spent Saturday mornings going to libraries with her mom. Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, and Encyclopedia Brown were the first books she fell in love with.

Death by High Heels releases with Secret Cravings Publishing on July 28, 2014.

Violet is busy at work on her next book.

Contact Violet:  http://violetingram.blogspot.com/

 

One thought on “Violet Ingram’s Path to Publication Story

Leave a Reply

