Brooke Williams’ Path to Publication Story

Today’s Path to Publication Story is from Brooke Williams.

Without further ado, here’s Brooke…

****************

IMG_8272PCPVI have always loved to write, but for whatever reason, I went into radio instead. After my first year in the radio industry full time, I realized how much I missed the paper-writing aspect of college life. Anytime a professor assigned a paper, I was overjoyed! I wrote scripts in radio, but it just wasn’t the same.

When the prologue for “Someone Always Loved You” came to me, I had to write it down. And once that was down, I had to keep going. What resulted was a full novel and I was amazed that an actual book had come from my fingers.

I was excited about the book and I began to investigate how to get it published. I started sending letters to agents, which were met by rejection after rejection. A few agents asked for more details, but then rejected me later. After a year or so of trying, I stuck the manuscript in a drawer and gave up.

I’m sad to say that a little rejection (okay, so a lot!) was all it took for me to throw in the towel, but as any writer knows, it takes a toll. I didn’t write anything but scripts for the next decade. Then…my daughter was born, a blessing in my life for more than the obvious reasons.

I left my full time career in radio to stay home with my daughter and I’ve never made a better decision in my life. Eventually, I realized I was too wrapped up in her and I needed something of my own. So, when she napped, I began to look for freelance writing jobs. My career in freelance writing took off with clients actually paying me to write for them.

As much as I love writing blogs and articles and web content, fiction still called and eventually, I started to dabble again. I found a small publisher that paid for books outright, which means they paid me a small sum for the rights to my book and then I never get royalties etc from them again. They took “God in the Kitchen” and “Taxi Delivery” and published them online and eventually in paperback.

I self-published “Someone Always Loved You” simply because I wanted it to be available for people to read, even if that just meant family and friends. Somehow, the book started taking off, which I didn’t realize until I started getting small royalty payments from amazon! I put my thriller novel “Beyond the Bars” up as well.

But self-publishing, though a valid option, was not what I wanted. I wanted a publisher to do the work and make the books complete and as professional as possible. I attended the HACWN writing conference in 2012 and was inspired to write a clean romance novel. There was an agent there who said romance is a great way to get your foot in the door and once your name is known, you can write what you want.

Turns out, I like romance! And I’m decent at it! I wrote “Wrong Place, Right Time,” a romantic comedy and submitted it to a few places. The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publisher offered me a contract and I accept. The novella will come out December 9th.

Once I had one contract, I couldn’t stop. I wrote “Accept this Dandelion,” a romantic comedy inspired by The Bachelor TV show. It is under contract with Prism Book Group and slated for a February 2015 release. Then I wrote “Mamarazzi,” another romantic comedy due out August 2015 from Prism Book Group. I even have a children’s book under contract with Wee Creek Press in the line up for release in February 2016. All of this has happened with in the last two years.

My advice to writers is never to give up. It might feel like you are looking for a needle in a haystack, but unless you keep looking, you are NEVER going to find it! I admit that I gave up at one point. But I couldn’t be more grateful that eventually, I came around. My only regret from my career in radio is that I didn’t take a chance and leave sooner to pursue writing. Now, I can’t imagine doing anything else with me life.

 

Blurb for Someone Always Loved You

salycover

His first day on the job, ambulance driver Jay has a horrible accident. The victim of the crash is thrown into a coma and Jay keeps vigil by her side. As their lives, past and present intertwine; a story of love through time unfolds. An intricate drama including adoption, love, suspense, and plenty of questions, Someone Always Loved You is a novel that keeps the mind churning and the soul alive.

 

 

 

Social Media Links:

Website:

http://www.authorbrookewilliams.com/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorBrookeWilliams

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/151184.Brooke_Williams

 

Buy Link for Someone Always Loved You:

Amazon

 

Contact Brooke:

Email:

authorbrookewilliams@gmail.com

 

Brooke Williams Bio

Brooke Williams is an award-winning author and freelance writer. She began her career in radio, both on the air and behind the scenes. She did a brief stint in TV news and then took on her most challenging job as a stay at home mom. During the few quiet hours in her day, Brooke writes articles for a number of clients as well as fiction creations such as “Someone Always Loved You.” Brooke has also written “Beyond the Bars,” a thriller, “God in the Kitchen,” a Christian novel, and “Taxi Delivery,” a Christian Romance. Brooke looks forward to the December 9th release of “Wrong Place, Right Time,” a romantic comedy and the February 2015 release of “Accept this Dandelion” inspired by the Bachelor TV show. Brooke has been married to her husband Sean since 2002 and has two daughters, Kaelyn and Sadie.

 

3 thoughts on “Brooke Williams’ Path to Publication Story

  1. Pingback: Another Book For Brooke Williams!! | Christi Corbett's Blog

Leave a Reply

