TC Booth’s Path to Publication Story

Today I’m featuring TC Booth’s Path to Publication story. Welcome, Tammi!

********************

me 2First, I’d like to thank Christi for hosting me on her blog.  My journey in writing began at a young with the love of poetry. I won my first poetry contest in third grade and had my picture taken for the paper. It was a pretty big deal.  Thinking back over my childhood, I realized that my mind was always geared to be a writer. My imagination stirred up interesting plots and characters even in play time.

As an adult, writing became my escape from reality. There’s nothing like getting lost in story I’m writing.  I shared stories with my family and eventually began to write children’s stories for my class.  I decided to give a try at publishing one of the children’s stories I wrote. It was published, and the feeling of seeing my characters come to life was unbelievable. Unfortunately, I was naïve in the world of publishing and didn’t have a positive experience.

Lesson learned, I did my homework when I decided to take the step into publishing of my young adult novella. I found a critique partner and paid someone to professionally edit it before I submitted it to Stephanie at Clean Reads, then Astraea Press.  She sent me book contract and Beyond Vica was published six months later.

Last November I took on the challenge of NaNoWrMo. A challenge it was! In order to try and reach the goal of writing 50,000 words in a month, I had to get up at four thirty each morning to write before school started. I didn’t make the goal by the end of the month, but managed to hammer out 43,000 words. I finished up the novel in December, had it edited and submitted it to Stephanie in February. My first young adult novel, To Be Honest, came out in July of this year.   I’m very grateful for Stephanie and all of the support at Clean Reads. Publishing with Clean Reads has been positive and professional in comparison to my first experience.

I haven’t had success if finding another publisher for my children’s stories, but will try again eventually.  Right now, I feel my niche is young adult contemporary fiction.  The topics I choose to center the stories around are relevant to young people today. I absolutely love to create the characters. There is nothing like seeing your work published and characters come to life. I’m truly blessed to be able to pursue my passion.

*********************

ToBeHonest_1400x2100After a freak accident left Starla Emerson with a deformed hand, her self-esteem dropped and her anxiety rose. She tries desperately to avoid attention at Cedar High. Star relies on her best friend Ally for moral support, along with her crush worthy boyfriend Jared.

Starla’s world is turned upside down when her family moves. She finds herself the new girl at Centerville High School where she’s the target of an Internet bully. Newfound friends help Starla plan a counter attack to expose the bully. The plan backfires and lands Star in a mountain of trouble.  Will she have the courage to be honest about who was involved in her plan? Once the truth is out…there’s no turning back.

Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Goodreads

Kobo

Smashwords

Author Bio:

TC Booth was born and raised in a small town in Northeast Ohio where she currently teaches. She lives with her husband and four children ranging in ages from 13-23. Her pets include one dog named Sammy, and two cats- Sheldon and Sasha.

TC Booth views books as the best form of entertainment and her escape for life’s stresses. She prefers reading a book over watching a movie, and writing over almost any other way to spend her time.

When not attending her children’s sporting events and running them around, you’ll see her writing on her laptop, iPad, and even jotting ideas down on her phone apps.

She enjoys the escape from the adult universe into the adolescent world. The passion in which young people experience life is contagious and the driving force of her writing.

Author Social Media Links:

www.tcbooth.com

www.facebook.com/tcbooth1

www.twitter.com/BoothTammi

https://instagram.com/boothtammi/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5010060.T_C_Booth

5 thoughts on “TC Booth’s Path to Publication Story

  1. Tammi, congratulations on your latest book. Nice cover! Also, I’m always amazed at anyone who does NaNoWriMo. Christi, thanks for hosting these Path to Publication posts – they’re fun, and always remind me to keep writing.

    • Monica,

      I’m so glad you like the “Path” posts! I’ve never done NaNo, and briefly considered trying this this year, but have already decided I’m too intimidated 🙂

Leave a Reply

