Lisa Cole Orchard’s Path to Publication

Today I’m very excited to say that Lisa Cole Orchard, a fellow Clean Reads author, is sharing her Path to Publication story. Without further ado, here’s Lisa…

**************

20111210_ABS_1296[1]

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you! I’m Lisa Orchard and I’m a guest today at Christi’s blog. Thanks Christi for having me here.

She wanted me to share my path to publication with you. I’m sure everyone’s path is a little different and I think that’s great because it gives aspiring writers hope they too can achieve publication no matter which path they choose.

I knew I wanted to be a writer in fifth grade. I even wrote a few of my own mysteries back then. I illustrated them too, but let’s just say my writing talents surpassed my artistic ones.

Of course, I had other goals too and they took precedence over my writing. I went to college and received a degree in Marketing, found a job, got married, and had kids.

So, it wasn’t until I made the decision to stay home with my kids that I started writing stories again. That’s when I created my first series “The Super Spies.”  At the time I started writing the first book in the series, “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer,” I was just trying to get my writing chops back. It’d been a while since I’d written anything and I wanted to see if I still had it in me.

So, I joined a writing group and brought my manuscript to them, four pages at a time. Their constructive criticism helped me and my writing improved. My goal at that time was to finish my novel.  When I did that, I wondered if I could get any interest from agents. So I sent out query letters, a lot of them. I’m not sure how many. I got some bites, agents interested in the premise of the story, but there were mostly rejections.

Undeterred, I asked the agents, why they didn’t like my story. I wasn’t upset, I just wanted to improve my writing. One agent responded and told me she didn’t like the narrative voice. I asked her if the story would be better if it were written in third person instead of first. She said yes it would be.

So, you guessed it. I rewrote the book in third person. After all, what did I have to lose? After I had gotten it rewritten, the first publisher I sent the new manuscript to, accepted it. Now I have three books in that series and three in a Young Adult Coming of Age series titled, “The Starlight Chronicles.”

Although rejection stings, don’t take it too personally. Just look at it as a bump in the road that puts you on the right path. Your own path to publication.

My covers and blurbs are below and I’m running a special promotion for “The Starlight Chronicles.” The whole series is available in a boxed set and the set is on sale for $.99!

Thanks for reading my post. Where are you on your writing journey? I’d love to hear from you so leave a comment.

TheStarlightChroniclesBox1400x2100Lark Singer is seventeen years old and already on the way to a brilliant music career. But as she and her band, Starlight, gear up for a competition, life seems to be throwing her a few curve balls. The mysteries of her past seem to be unraveling, and she’s no longer certain she wants to know those answers or how knowing about her past will affect her difficult relationship with her mother. And when her best friend, Bean, changes things between them, all her plans for a musical future are placed in jeopardy. How can she balance her complicated personal life to keep her musical goals on track?

BOX SET CONTAINS ALL THREE BOOKS IN THE STARLIGHT SERIES:

Gideon Lee             Lark Singer               Starlight

Buylink: Amazon

 

About Lisa:

Lisa Orchard grew up loving books. She was hooked on books by the fifth grade and even wrote a few of her own. She knew she wanted to be a writer even then. Her first published works are the “Super Spies Series.” These stories revolve around a group of friends who form their own detective squad and the cases they solve. “The Starlight Chronicles,” is the next series that Lisa created with musical misfit, Lark Singer as her main character.

Lisa resides in Michigan with her husband, Steve, and two wonderful boys. Currently, she’s working on the next book in the Starlight Chronicles Series along with a few new ideas that may turn into stand-alone novels. When she’s not writing she enjoys spending time with her family, running, hiking, and reading.

 

Connect with Lisa:

Facebook           Twitter          Website  

 

2 thoughts on “Lisa Cole Orchard’s Path to Publication

Leave a Reply

