Kay P. Dawson’s Path To Publication Story

Today Kay P. Dawson has stopped by to discuss her Path to Publication. Without further ado, here’s Kay…

***********

marie

Thank you Christi for hosting me on your blog today!

I have dreamed of being a writer ever since I was a little girl.  But, I always thought the dream was maybe just a bit too big, never believing I would be able to write anything that anyone would want to read.

In 2011, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and my whole perspective on life changed.  With 2 young girls I was determined to be here to see grow up, I chose extreme treatment that included a double mastectomy, and over a year of chemotherapy treatments.  During this time, I realized how fragile life is, and that waiting for the best time to go after a dream means you may never do it.

There will never be a “best time”, so sometimes you just have to jump in with both feet and hope for the best!

I started learning the craft of writing, finally sitting down and writing my first book, “Everly – Wilder West Series Book 1” in early 2015.  I then went on to publish the 3 books in that series, plus a short story before the end of the year.

My new book, called “Phoebe’s Promise” is kind of a special book that is dear to my heart.  The main character, Phoebe, is named after my great aunt Phoebe, who passed away just before I was able to finish this book.  She was my biggest cheerleader, insisting she had never read any books as good as mine, and was determined they should be made into a movie.  (I’m sure she wasn’t biased at all!)

My own grandmothers never got to know I was writing, both of them passing before I got the courage to put myself out there and write a book.  So, my aunt Phoebe had stepped in to give those pep talks that only a grandma can do.

The research I did for “Phoebe’s Promise” was so much fun!  I love everything about pioneer times and the history that these people lived.  I wanted to write a story that included the Oregon Trail, with the covered wagons and life on the trail, but I knew I would need a strong woman to take the reins for this story – someone like my aunt.

My books are in the sweet, clean genre.  I like to write books that anyone can read, including my kids.  I don’t think true love and romance needs to show all of the juicy details, so I try to make my stories show the love growing between two people without all of the extras.  I believe a good story can be carried without the need for anything else.

I love writing in the western historical genre, and I plan on putting out many more books!  I enjoy getting lost in the times I am researching, building the stories as I dream they might have happened.

I hope you enjoy reading my books!

 

 

PhoebesPromise_3D

In order to keep a promise she made to her dying mother, Phoebe sets off with her younger sister to head across the country on a wagon train bound for Oregon.  Dressed as a boy, all she has to do is find the captain of the outfit and convince him to take them along.

When Colton sees the young boy in front of him, he knows instantly it’s a woman – and he has no choice but to take them along.  Their wagon is packed and ready to go.

The weeks ahead will bring many challenges, heartbreak and hardships.  Does Phoebe have the strength to get them safely to Oregon?  And, can she learn to trust Colton to help when it’s needed?

PHOEBE’S PROMISE INFO:

myBook.to/PhoebesPromise

 

Author Links:

Website           Kay P. Dawson Author Page          Newsletter

Contact Kay at:  kaypdawsonwrites@gmail.com

 

Social Media:

Facebook           Twitter

 

BIO:

I am a stay at home mom, who loves to read and write clean historical romance. I enjoy thinking back to a simpler time, a time when men and women were true heroes. I also believe that a good romance can be told without needing to know all of the details 😉

All of my stories will tell of people who find true love, and who find their happy ever after. Sometimes the road might be rocky, but that makes it all worthwhile!

 

 

Leave a Reply

