J.J. Nite’s Path to Publication Story

Today J.J. Nite stopped by to share her Path to Publication story. Without further ado, here’s J.J.

****************

Author Photo2I first want to thank Christi for inviting me to be here today. It’s so exciting to tell people about my book babies!

According to my mother, I’ve been telling stories since I could talk. My father would come home and ask what we did that day and I would go on and on telling him about all the places Mom and I had been that day. We’d never left the house.

Eventually I put those storytelling skills to good use. I loved to write in middle and high school. During college and then when I started my career as a middle school teacher, writing fell by the wayside. Even though I had all of these great stories in my head, there didn’t seem to be time to write them down.

Fast forward to 2008. I had an almost 1 year old, a 2 year old, and a 3 year old. I was quite certain I was going to go crazy if I didn’t do something for me. Just for me! My life revolved around my family and while I loved them all, there comes a time when you need to put yourself first. Even if it’s only for 10 minutes a day.

That first day, I wrote one page and was so excited about it that I almost burst. After finishing that first novel, I researched how to get an agent and eagerly sent my queries out. Silence. That’s what I received. Nothing but crickets. Discouragement is a hard thing to get past, but I persevered and wrote my second book.

It wasn’t until my daughter started taking dance lessons in the fall of 2012, that my dream to see something I had created published would become true. Meeting Stephanie Tayler, owner of Clean Reads, was truly a God thing. Her daughter was taking the same dance class as mine and we began talking.

That, as they say, was the beginning of a wonderful journey. I have now published five novels with Clean Reads and I’m looking forward to many more.

File May 02, 5 35 02 PM

Seventeen year old Eden Malakim, Edie, thought her life couldn’t get any more complicated than it already was. She and her mother have moved so many times Edie has lost count. So when her mother insists they move again, Edie hopes it will be the last one.

Little does Edie know, this move will bring her face to face with not only a family she’s never met, but a future she didn’t know was possible. The stories of angels and demons from her childhood turn out to be all too real and Edie discovers she’s the answer to a prophecy as old as time.

Suddenly thrown into a world Edie didn’t know existed anywhere but in stories, she realizes everything is not always what it seems. Trying to determine what is real and where she fits in, becomes the least of her worries when someone begins attacking her. Will Edie discover her true purpose before it’s too late or will something more sinister win the day?

About the Author:

J.J. Nite lives in North Alabama with her husband, 3 kids, 2 dogs, and 4 goldfish. She writes young adult sweet romance for Clean Reads and loves reading as much as possible. J.J.’s also found that if she doesn’t write something every day, her mood is that of a bear waking from hibernation. Don’t worry though, the children have learned to let Mommy write a little before approaching.

 

Social Media:

Twitter: @jjnite

Instagram: @jjniteauthor

SnapChat: JJNite

Facebook: www.facebook.com/jjnite1

 

Buy Links

Amazon

Kobo

iTunes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

