Sophia Whittemore’s Path to Publication Story

Today I’m thrilled to introduce fellow Clean Reads author, Sophia Whittemore, who generously agreed to share her Path to Publication story.

Oh, and you should know that Sophia’s first novel released before she graduated from high school!!!

Without further ado, here’s Sophia…

***************

8 author photo jpeg

I started writing to overcome social anxiety when I was little. Being a late bloomer/ only child, making friends was harder to do than making enemies. So imagination and storytelling became my outlet. I’d sit in the library reading every book on mythology (I also happened to read a lot of mythology because it was on the shortest shelf, and before I had a growth spurt, the lowest shelf was the only one I could reach).

When writing became something that I seriously considered doing for life, I searched out for publications and magazines sometime around eighth grade. By my sophomore year of high school, I’d snagged a couple Midwestern Writing Awards. By junior year, I was published in a literary magazine. By my senior year of high school, I had learned the merits of hard work.

Despite my father’s battle with cancer and my mom’s with diabetes, I kept on writing. I eventually published the first of my Impetus Rising Series by the start of my senior year. By that point, I had an entire box full of rejection letters that I’d garnered over the past year, but that didn’t faze me.

Clean Reads became my first publishing family, and it introduced me to a world where writing wasn’t just a dream, but instead, a reality. I’ll be attending Dartmouth College this fall with the knowledge that hard work will get me everywhere, so long as I have the support of my friends and family.

8 deaths fool jpeg

“Isak was love. Isak was bravery. Isak was death.”

Her lover has been cursed. Her mother has been kidnapped. Her best friend’s soul has been stolen and his body deformed. And Diana is afraid that she too is turning into a bloodthirsty monster, just like her father.

Awoken from an enchantment placed on her by her treacherous lover, the half-Impetus god, half mortal Diana is flung into a war between mutant shadows and the Impetus beings. Diana must navigate a world where queens torture their faithful knights, human children play with giants, and magic has darkness within it. Diana knows she has some power within her, some sleeping evil that demands to be set free. But is she truly her father, or is she her own person?

Secrets are revealed to her about the cursed Prince Isaakios that she never knew before, secrets like the women he once had in his life, or the havoc he once wreaked upon the Earth. How far will this twisted love go for Diana before she is broken? Or will she break before she even gets the chance to save the world one last time?

 

AUTHOR BIO:

Sophia Whittemore is a Dartmouth student and multiracial author with an Indonesian mother and a Minnesotan father. She has had book signings at Barnes & Noble for her Impetus Rising Series, available on Amazon and other outlets, the first book published when she was only seventeen. She has been featured as a Standout in the Daily Herald and a Rad Reads author in Girls’ Life Magazine. Her love for the English language manifested itself in eighth grade when she went to the Scripps National Spelling Bee and has continued with other languages such as Spanish and Indonesian. Her prior publications include “A Clock’s Work” in a Handersen Publishing magazine, “Blind Man’s Bluff” in Parallel Ink, and winning multiple awards in the Best Midwestern Writing competition for high school writers. She currently resides in Chicago, Illinois with her family and food-loving mini schnauzer called Tiger. Drawing on inspiration from her two cultural backgrounds, Sophia lives a life playing tennis, traveling, and writing about her dual life experiences through other characters in her works or on her blog.

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sophiawhitte

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Authorsophiawhittemore/

Instagram: @authorsophiawhittemore

Tumblr: http://authorsophiawhitte.tumblr.com/

WordPress: https://sophiawhittemore.com

 

Leave a Reply

