Kadee Carder’s Path to Publication

Please welcome fellow Clean Reads author, Kadee Carder, to the blog! She’s agreed to share her Path to Publication story. Thanks Kadee! Without further ado, here’s Kadee…

***********

kadee-carder

Path To Publication – A Rocky One, A Worthy One

My parents encouraged me to try a myriad assortment of activities throughout my childhood. Softball stuck with me. I played the sport for over ten years, loving almost every minute. One season we didn’t win a single game. That was harsh, but hey, I learned I loved the sport no matter what. To help me improve during my earlier years of playing the sport, my dad drilled a hole in a softball and strung it up on this horizontal branch on a large tree in our backyard. I’d spend hours slamming that softball up and around the branch, perfecting my swing.

Being the overly-imaginative child I was, I’d invent all sorts of scenarios in which I’d have to hit something over and over and over….and just think, if a softball could fly on its own, and was ON FIRE, what would YOU DO?! And the basic premise for Insurrection wiggled its way into my imagination.

I presented the idea to my three friends, who’d play imaginary games with me at recess, and suddenly the four of us became fearless fighters, saving the world from flying fireballs, sword fighting with pirates, and conquering wild lands. We were unstoppable. When Saylor first appeared as a character to me, she was a boy, because when I played in my backyard, only boys had adventures. It’s time to change that, friends, because girls can rock a baseball bat, obstacle course, and beachside kiss just as good as the best of them.

With my husband’s help, I’ve updated the idea to call these abominable creatures “Oxinals,” and they are autonomous, artificially-intelligent sentinels, which can kill any living creature with one single touch. We’d need some brave warriors to save us, yes?

I’ve never been able to shake the camaraderie of the story I shared with my own girlfriends as we played in our backyards twenty years ago. So I began working on writing the Insurrection trilogy while earning my Master of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing, pregnant, working full-time as an office manager of a church. Initially, Insurrection was a quick crack at a thesis I wrote in a month and a half. At that point in my life I began to understand the depths of what it takes to chase after dreams and shake up the stars.

In the years since beginning this journey with Saylor, I’ve sat for hours hunkered over my laptop, vetted with beta readers, chatted with hundreds of readers, and even flown across the country to meet with publishers. My husband participated in a community theater show and after a few nights of sitting in my office bored to tears, I decided to crack out the dusty thesis and see what I could do with it.

Rewriting the first book and working on the second and third books took a little over a year of solid writing. After almost a year of sending out unanswered queries and participating in a nerve-wrecking round of pitching to agents and publishers at the speedy Pitch-A-Palooza at the RT Booklover’s Convention in Las Vegas, I met with Clean Reads. Two months later, I had a contract in hand for the trilogy.

We humans have to be stronger than we ever imagine, love ourselves in the process, and dig in when the ground seems to sink. We not only relish adventures, we create them. And that’s the basis of Saylor’s story in my young adult science fiction trilogy, Insurrection.

****************
insurrection

Saylor had always been told she was a stain on the cloth of mankind. Escaping the girls’ home with her orphan sisters Micah, Denise, and Patricia, the four find themselves enduring storms at sea and imprisoned on a mysterious Caribbean island. Separated from her sisters, Saylor must learn to fight for her life and theirs, enduring dark and strange noises, discovering dazzling beaches, and ensnared in the secrets of a covert military base.

Forced to trade her freedom for a contract with Alliance Military Guard, Saylor develops her inner warrior. Wavering between terror and ecstasy, she must face an enemy who exposes her indispensable abilities. In order to rescue her sisters, impress the hunky Australian, and protect innocent lives on a global scale, she must master techniques of fighting an army created to destroy with a single, scorching touch – or die trying.

They wanted a warrior. They got one.

Volume Two arriving February 2017!

Purchase:
Amazon                   Nook/Barnes&Noble                 iTunes

Author Bio:
Deep in the heart of Texas, Kadee Carder resides with her husband and daughters. Carder earned a BA in Public Relations at Howard Payne University and an MFA in Creative Writing from National University. She teaches English courses on the university level and plans her schedule around coffee availability.

Writing and language have been her life-long pleasure, wordsmithery offering the ability to twist emotion in to sense and cosmos. When she’s not dancing around the living room with her daughters, she helps at church activities, creates encouraging blogs, and orders pizza like a boss.
Follow Kadee on social media:
Website: kadeecarder.com
Twitter: @kadeecbooks
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kadeecarderbooks/
Instagram: kadeecarderink
And please feel free to subscribe for encouraging blogs! Kadeecarder.com

Leave a Reply

