Daily Word Count

If you’re a writer, you likely have seen other writers lamenting over, bragging about discussing their daily word count totals and goals.

quote-and-i-m-a-slow-writer-five-six-hundred-words-is-a-good-day-that-s-the-reason-it-took-me-20-years-shelby-foote-63531

I’m a slow writer, so if I get 1000 words in a day I’m thrilled, and running through the house yelling “Leapin’ Lizards” (bonus point if you get that movie reference).

Click here to read an interesting article that shows the daily word counts of 39 famous authors.

What about you? What’s a good day of writing for you?

8 thoughts on “Daily Word Count

  1. Christi … considering the number of words in some of these authors books, isn’t it amazing that they think a good day is 500 words?

    Me … on a good day 3,000 … on a bad day or when I write my blog posts 500. The blog posts are about 1,000 so if I didn’t start it on Monday … I’ll pay the devil for it on Tuesday 🙂

    Of course, there is always the lesson … “slow and steady wins the race.” 🙂

    • I’m definitely a slow and steady kind of gal, which makes me nervous because for the first time in my writing life I have an actual, no foolin’ around, deadline for my next book. My summer is going to be busy!!!

      Thanks again for the blog love you gave me the other day!

  2. I find that on some days 500 words can take me the same amount of time as 3,000 words, so I write until I feel the story needs to breathe. I always stop writing at a climatic moment or in the middle of a scene so I can pick it up easily the next day.

    • MK,

      I’ve heard that tip before about stopping when it’s exciting so you are eager to get back to it again, and don’t procrastinate. I’m going to try it with this next book.

  3. It’s a very good question. For me it depends on what I’m writing. I’ve found that 5,000 words is the most I can do in one day, but in reality I’m rarely comfortable with more than 2,500. I get “in the zone” after 300-700 words, so some things need to be written in longer sittings (at least 1,000 words). But if I know exactly what I’m going to write, I can do 500 words or less and feel more than comfortable with that.

    • M,

      Hey there! Good to see you here again! Do you think “the zone” is something like a runner’s high, where they have ran so much that everything is feeling great?

  4. I’d have to say 1000 words and I’d be thrilled to pieces, too. Many days I only get a few hundred. It feels like the closer I get to the end the less words I write. I’m not sure why. I’m in awe of writers who can churn out thousands of words a day. It’s not an easy thing to do.

    • Today I wrote for about 20 minutes and was thrilled to have that amount of time. Summer is fast approaching, which means late nights for me since I can only write after my twins are asleep (I zone out and don’t hear what’s going on around me, so I don’t feel comfortable writing while I’m in charge of them during the day)

Leave a Reply

