Update on my next book, Tainted Dreams

deadline

I’m out of the editing cave after fixing an embarrassing amount of errors during my first round of edits. It seems punctuation and past/present tense is a struggle for me. Also, I’m pathetic when it comes to using lay/lie/laid/lain correctly ๐Ÿ™‚

editor cat

Now, I’m awaiting my next round of edits, and even more exciting, my book’s cover!

And I’m hard at work on the first draft of my next book. This newbie author learned a valuable lesson about the importance of writing something new during the editing and promotion process of an already-contracted book.

So how about you? How are you doing?ย 

4 thoughts on “Update on my next book, Tainted Dreams

  1. It sounds like you’re in a good place right now! I think what I need is some deadlines…lol One thing about self-publishing is that it’s not nearly as “motivational”. XD

    Currently I’m working on book one of a YA fantasy series. I’m hoping to traditionally publish but I don’t know how much patience I have for the whole submit – and – wait process…I am not a patient person and most publishers seem to take MONTHS to even look at your submission.

    • Tracey,

      Instead of a traditional large publishing house where it takes a long time to get submissions looked at, have you considered looking into going with a small press?

      My publisher, Clean Reads (formerly known as Astraea Press…they just underwent a name change but everything else stays the same) is a small press and I’m thrilled with the turnaround times, the open lines of communication available with editors and the owner, and a lot of other things.

      I’ve heard similar things from other authors pubbed by small presses, so it might be something to consider?

  2. Christi, I am so excited for you. Keep them coming and we’ll keep reading them. Laura Drake said the same thing. She had to have one in the pipe line and one in edits and one in print to keep her agent and publisher happy.

    I am fast approaching the next stage of this writerly-thing … the last draft is one third done and is with my two main readers. Then I am going to find someone to print her and keep going. The only saving grace for me is the flash fiction I play with on the blog.

    So, so happy for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • And when that happens I’ll be first in line to snatch up a copy, and then tell the world about your book! You’re a talented writer and I’m so excited the world is about to be able to read your words!

Leave a comment