My Very Own Meme (and what’s a Meme?)

Monica Gudlewski, new blogger and one of the winners of the Captioning Contest on this blog, tagged me in a Meme that’s going around the blog-o-sphere.

First thing I said to myself, “Wow, that’s pretty cool.”

Second thing I said to myself, “What’s a meme?

So, me being a lover of research and learning new things, trucked myself on over to Wikipedia (yeah, I didn’t say I was looking for accuracy–just looking for a general idea).

First, as is usually the case on the good ol’ Wikster, the article has the headline of, “This article needs additional citations for verification.”

Whatever. I’m looking for a basic concept so I continue reading only to find a whole bunch of boring. (Click here if you want to read it in full.)

On to another internet source of information…Google.

And that’s where I find another link to Wikipedia, and this one actually makes sense.

The term Internet meme (pronounced /ˈmiːm/, rhyming with “cream”[1]) is used to describe a concept that spreads via the Internet. …The idea may take the form of a hyperlink, video, picture, website, hashtag, or just a word or phrase. The meme may spread from person to person via social networks, blogs, direct email, news sources, or other web-based services.”

Okay, so now I’m thinking it’s like those Blog Awards and Blogfests that are popular with bloggers.

So, of course I’m in!

To start this meme off, I’m  supposed to answer a few questions about myself, so here goes…

If you could go back in time and relive one moment, what would it be?

First time I held my twins in the hospital. It was incredibly scary and incredibly amazing all at the same time.

Taken on a lakeshore in Minnesota when twins were three-months-old. The logistics of taking them on a trip was a massive organizational undertaking, but well worth it!

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?

Lots of the little stuff that didn’t matter all that much but made me look like a fool or a b*tch, but none of the big stuff.

What movie/TV character do you most resemble in personality?

I ducked out in the middle of these questions to watch a few minutes of my one of my favorite John Wayne movies, McLintock. As a result, Maureen O’Hara’s character, Kate, is the first that comes to mind.

Might as well throw in the trailer to that movie while I’m here…

If you could push one person off a cliff and get away with it, who would it be?

No one. Instead I’ll just settle for putting them in my novels and making their character a complete moron and one that readers will hate. That way I can reread as needed :D.

Name one habit you want to change in yourself.

I’m suffer from procrastination with enough self-doubt thrown in to really sabotage myself, so I’d probably start with one of those. Someday.

Describe yourself in one word.

Headstrong

Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.

Bloggernewbie (I just made up a word! Seriously, she just created her blog so click her link at the top of this post and support her!)

 Why do you blog? Answer in one sentence.

To write for public consumption on a weekly basis, and to make connections with other writers.

Name at least 3 people to send this meme to, and then inform them.

Artemis Grey

Florence Fois

Regina

6 thoughts on “My Very Own Meme (and what’s a Meme?)

  1. Christi, great job! I especially love the picture of you and the twins. Thanks for “memeing” with me.

    • Monica,

      That picture was taken when they were a little over three months. We took a road trip to Northern Minnesota to spend 4th of July weekend with a big group of friends. It was my first experience with just how much STUFF kids needed while away from home. The next trip we took they were nine-months-old 😀

      Thanks for introducing me to “meme”

      Christi

  2. Okay, does this mean I “meme” in the comments or do it in a post? Duh … in a post stupid 🙂

    Very interesting. I’ll do it for Friday’s post.
    Love the pic of you and the kids … your answers are fascinating and give me another perseption of who Christi Corbett is … Love that Monica and her “newbie” enthusiasm 🙂

    • Florence,

      Yep, you are supposed to do it in a post on your blog 😀

      I look forward to seeing your answers and getting to know you a bit more through them.

      Christi

  3. Pingback: Tweet, Retweet and TweetMeme « A Writer's Blog

Leave a comment